Cheesy Potatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
These potatoes were awesome! I made a few changes to the recipe though. I didnt use velveta because we dont like that, instead I used a bag of cheddar cheese. Also, instead of using 1 1/2 of milk i used a can of cream soup (any kind) and mixed that with milk. It turned out to be a bit too much butter but they were still awesome and really yummy! Everyone was chowing down. They are also good for leftovers, I had them for lunch today! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Recipe was very tasty and was a big hit. My only problems with recipe were "medium baking dish" - my medium baking dish was too small & cooked over into my oven (had to put it on cookie sheet) and directions do not specify greased or ungreased. I would definitely say ungreased. It all fit well into my baking dish nicely but baked over anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
Very tasty and the ooey goey cheese made this a good comfort food. Also, plenty of room for alterations to your tastes. We have added sauted green bell peppers (chopped) and some minced garlic but you can add the "extras" that you and your family enjoy most with cheese and potatoes (or just prepare as is). However, we noticed we did not need to cook as long as recipe recommends, even with the extra ingrediants...perhaps we used thinner potato slices? Either way, have made again and will continue into the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This recipe was easy to make. However, after reading previous ratings I substituted 1/2 the velveta with sharp cheddar, added 1 T. of flour to the milk and doubled the cooking time. Everyone loved them and I was asked for the recipe! I would definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
These were very good. My husband loved them as he is a big fan of scalloped potatoes and this version is much easier than making the cream sauce by hand and then adding the cheese. I halved the recipe and used 1/2 colby-jack, 1/2 processed cheese and added flour to the milk before pouring it into the dish and it was yummy. I also added a little paprika with the salt and pepper for each layer. It won't have the same smooth texture as it does if you make the sauce separate from scratch, but the key is to keep stirring this as it bakes. I also have a mandolin so slicing the potatoes is a snap and it didn't take me long to put this together. Great time saving recipe if you are craving home made scalloped potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I used 4 Yukon Gold potatoes, less onion than called for and substituted a mixture of cheddar and mozzarella cheese for the velveeta. You can omit the butter altogether. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
VERY GOOD! I cut the recipe in half as there are only 2 of us. Other than that, I followed it exactly. To cut down on prep time, I peeled and sliced the potatoes and kept them in a bowl of water until it was time to prepare dinner. This was a very enjoyable side dish to a ham dinner and I will be making it again. Thank you Holly Bobst for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
This was really nice although I sprinkled some tasty shredded cheese between the layers instead of the processed cheese and didn't use quite so much butter. It is important to stir (or spoon) liquid over potatoes during cooking or else it won't thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
This is pretty good. I think there is way too much butter. It just pooled around, and made it greasy. I had to soak it up with a napkin. Also, I didn't know how thin to slice the potatoes, so I did some thin, and some not-so-thin. The not-so-thin ones weren't quite done, so I recommend cutting them thin, but not like paper-thin. It makes a lot, so if there are only a couple of you, I would cut the recipe in half unless you want leftovers. Overall, not bad. May or may not make it again. It's worth a try. My husband and the guys liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This was the absolute best potato side dish that my church and family love to eat!! If you love cheese and potatoes, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HENSOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griffith, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States