Cheesy Potatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I cooked it covered in the microwave for 20 minutes, then put it in the oven uncovered for 5 minutes to brown the top. Used sliced cheddar cheese instead of velveta. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Losurdo Cassidy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Very yummy! I did change a couple things , I used less of the cheese, because a whole loaf seemed like it would just be too much, and I didn't have stick butter and read about 1/2 cup being too much anyway, so I just dotted each layer with a little butter. The only thing I didn't like it is was a little liquidy for my taste so I think I'll just use less milk next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delphos, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Very good recipe. I made these at Easter and everyone loved them. I did as other viewers and used 1/2 lb. processed cheese and 1/2 lb. shredded cheese. I also used 2 cups of milk. I baked for 1 1/2 hrs. Be sure to slice the potatoes thin. Will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was a great base recipe but pay attention to everyone's reviews and tweak it! After reading the reviews, I sliced them pretty thin to quicken cook time and cut out 1/2 of the velveeta in favor of real shredded cheddar cheese. I also cut back a bit on the butter. I went heavy on the milk because so many reviews said dryness was a problem, but I ended up with the opposite prob-too much liquid! About 3/4 way through cooking time and it was still like soup. I poured off quite a bit and that fixed the prob. It took about an hour & 1/2 before it was completely done. It had just the right flavor I was looking for to accompany our ham Christmas dinner though and will definitely make it again, tho I think I'll try it in the crockpot next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frisby0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Trempealeau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
A few years ago, I made this for my family. I am graciously expected to make them for every holiday now. It is SUPER easy to make and everyone eats it up! GREAT recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
These had a really good flavor but they looked rather unappetizing. The cheese/milk curdled while cooking and I was certain they were going to be garbage. Wrong! They had a wonderful flavor and my husband, who doesn't really care for potatoes, said that they were the best potatoes he's ever had and wants me to make them again. I will gladly make them again for our family but due to it's unappealing appearance I don't think I would ever consider making this for company. As other reviews suggested I cut the amount of butter in half and while it didn't detract from the dish, I still thought that it could have done with less. Next time I will omit it completely or maybe just add 1 Tbsp. I also recommend using a large dish rather than a medium as it was nearly impossible to stir without making a huge mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I absolutely LOVED these and so did my husband. I used less butter and instead of using all velveeta I added shredded mild cheddar and co-jack as well. I really liked the flavor of all the cheeses. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saundra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was really good. I will cook longer next time to make the top layer crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeitfresh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I hate when people completely change the recipe in their reviews, which I'm not trying to do, but I did add bacon pieces, green onions, and garlic powder to this recipe. Turned out great and I'm now the official potato casserole maker for family gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTY225

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Great comfort food. Left out the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States