Cheesy Potato and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
This recipe well exceeded my expectations!! The hubby and I LOVED it!! Followed others suggestions of 1 cup milk and 1 cup heavy cream, along with a can of kernel corn and a can of cream corn. I couldn't find the Mexican style velveeta so I just used the original in block form. Lastly I added some diced ham and it was delish! Throw in some Italian bread for dipping and you have a good meal for the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Oh this was so delicious! My only changes were using more celery and onion, and I omitted the salt & pepper cause the gravy added enough for our taste. Absolutely awesome comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
yumming.. great for a cold night with this hardy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This is SO GOOD! Added about a tablespoon of minced garlic when cooking onion and celery. Also added 1/8 teaspoon of cayenne pepper and 1 teaspoon of crushed red pepper. Then added 3 strips of crushed bacon. Served with green onion and bacon crumbles on top and garlic cheese biscuits on the side. It was really a good combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
The recipe was a hit tonight! I used olive oil instead of butter. I also cooked bacon for those who wanted to add it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I've tried this recipe once before and I loved it. Made it again for my family but this time added a clove of minced garlic in with the celery and onions and then added some Italian breakfast sausage and it complimented it so well! Definitely a recipe I'll be keeping around for quite a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I've made this recipe now probably 100 times. It is always a winner. The only difference I have made over the years is frying some bacon and cooking the veggies in the fat, adding the bacon at the very end and also adding jalapeno throughout. Oh yeah, I tend to add a little more cheese sometimes. SO YUMMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Excellent. I did not have gravy mix so I used 3tsp of corn starch. I had frozen corn and a can of creamed corn. I only had grated sharp cheddar and pizza cheese. So it sounds like I changed much of the recipe, but I followed the process. I also had to add some salt since I did not use the mix. Perfect on a rainy winter day in Texas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
tasty! All family enjoyed.. age 10- 45
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
A KEEPER! I will be making this one again, for sure! I added some cooked chicken. Taste the soup before adding any seasonings, however. The Country Gravy mix DOES have pepper in it. It's fine, but we didn't think it needed more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 693) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States