Cheesy Potato and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
VERY tasty soup with a little kick to it! Definitely in my top 3 of this site, and I've been getting recipes from here for years. The first time i made I was a little nervous (gravy?), but trust the process. The results are delicious. Try to find King potatoes or one of the slightly yellow buttery ones, and it will result in a creamier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I add a little extra cheese and serve with crackers. Makes a great meal on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReallyKatie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I gave it 5 stars it was so good-make a couple of changes-left out the chilies and celery (we don't like) and used Velveeta Queso Blanco cheese and used green onions. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Loved this soup! No stores in NY seemed to have "country style gravy mix" so I combined 1/4 cup vegetable oil, 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 tsp seasoning salt in a pan and browned it. Then whisked in 2 cups of half & half. Once that was blended I mixed about half of it into the soup. (I'd cut the recipe in half next time) It came out perfect. I also skipped the celery and sauteed the onions in bacon fat, saving the bacon to crumble on the top. I would DEFINITELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Followed recipe, turned out pretty good....a little spicy, but I like spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Excellent soup. Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Mmm. Mmm. Mmm. That's all I can say! This was easy to make and very good! Will def. make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Absolutely delicious!! I was able to find hot canned green chilies and it really made this soup wonderful and spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maine, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was by far the best Cheesy Potato Corn Chowder I have ever had. This recipe is even better than the one my favorite restaurant serves, I will be making it often. Here are the changes I made; I cooked bacon first to use later on top then I took the bacon grease and sauted the onion (no celery we don't like it). I added 1 can of corn and 1 can of creamed corn. I added 1 cup milk and 1 cup heavy whipping cream. My only regret was making it too early, after the first little "Taste Test" I am found it hard to stay away from the pot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
My husband asked for corn chowder. This is the recipe I selected. It was DELICIOUS! The only change I made was adding 2 chopped jalapeno peppers to the celery and onion during the sautee process. And I used cheddar instead of Velveeta. I served it with garlic/cheese biscuits and cooked apples. What a hit it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 676) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States