Cheesy Potato and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Its a very good base! If you have some imagination you can use this to make all sorts of different variations. I found it a bit dull if you enjoy lots of spice but its very open to customize! I mixed things up with my second batch. I added some bacon and brocolli and it turned out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Really really good! I'm a huge crockpot kinda girl so I followed a few other reviewers tips and the soup came out wonderful. I baked off some bacon (400 degrees for about 20 minutes) Put some (about 2 Tbls.) of the bacon grease in the bottom of the (high) hot crock pot, put in the celery & onions. I added the potatoes & chicked broth cooked it on high for about 3 hours. I then added a can of cream corn, regualr corn, 6 oz of Velveeta & used 1 cup milk & 1 cup heavy cream. Always salt & pepper. I let it cook for another hour. Added some shreded cheddar, bacon bits and chives. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslijo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This recipe is amazing. You can do so much with it or make it just like the recipe. I added fresh Jalapeno's, Cumin and Chipotle hot sauce for a kick. Serve it with fried corn tortillas on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I added chopped carrots, shredded cabbage,diced cauliflower and reduced the potatoes to suit my taste. The milk gravy mix is a great way to make a creamy chowder. Thank you for that tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was so surprisingly good! I roasted 3 peppers myself as opposed to using (flavorless) canned so it was nice and spicy. I also used evaporated milk for part of the milk since I was running low on it. And I used a mixture of cheddar and pepper jack since I didn't have velveeta. I will make this many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiS711

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Ellsworth Afb, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
We love this! I added a touch of tabasco sauce and some salt and pepper. Added extra potatoes and some carrots because we love lots of veggies and it turned out great! Everyone always loves it. Sometimes we add sautéed chicken breast if my husbands feels like some meat in his soup. Then it's just like Chicken corn chowder! Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktlynn01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Very good recipe. Quick easy meal. Probably could be lightened up a bit if you chose to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Made this today and it is fantastic! I used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk, omitted the celery and added 2 tbsp jalapenos and it was just the right amount of sweetness and spice I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
An absolutely excellent recipe as-is. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Used 2% milk and 2% cheddar - left out chili's (would have been great but company coming that wouldn't have eaten them) and added some diced carrots and a little broccoli just for fiber. Also had a smoked chicken thigh in the fridge that I shredded up and added. Between the extra fiber and protein I added, and the lower fat dairy products, the soup actually came in at very low points for a chowder (WW). Kudos - I don't mind making a roux, but the country gravy mix works excellently in this soup and as I pick up several when they go on sale, this will be a regular winter rotation. Oh - I added fresh corn instead of cannned - I just added it and the broccoli halfway through the potato cooking time. The carrot I sauteed with the onion and a little garlic at the beginning. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 684) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States