Cheesy Potato and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I gave it 5 stars it was so good-make a couple of changes-left out the chilies and celery (we don't like) and used Velveeta Queso Blanco cheese and used green onions. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Loved this soup! No stores in NY seemed to have "country style gravy mix" so I combined 1/4 cup vegetable oil, 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 tsp seasoning salt in a pan and browned it. Then whisked in 2 cups of half & half. Once that was blended I mixed about half of it into the soup. (I'd cut the recipe in half next time) It came out perfect. I also skipped the celery and sauteed the onions in bacon fat, saving the bacon to crumble on the top. I would DEFINITELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Followed recipe, turned out pretty good....a little spicy, but I like spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Excellent soup. Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Mmm. Mmm. Mmm. That's all I can say! This was easy to make and very good! Will def. make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Absolutely delicious!! I was able to find hot canned green chilies and it really made this soup wonderful and spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maine, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was by far the best Cheesy Potato Corn Chowder I have ever had. This recipe is even better than the one my favorite restaurant serves, I will be making it often. Here are the changes I made; I cooked bacon first to use later on top then I took the bacon grease and sauted the onion (no celery we don't like it). I added 1 can of corn and 1 can of creamed corn. I added 1 cup milk and 1 cup heavy whipping cream. My only regret was making it too early, after the first little "Taste Test" I am found it hard to stay away from the pot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
My husband asked for corn chowder. This is the recipe I selected. It was DELICIOUS! The only change I made was adding 2 chopped jalapeno peppers to the celery and onion during the sautee process. And I used cheddar instead of Velveeta. I served it with garlic/cheese biscuits and cooked apples. What a hit it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
A new family favorite. This is a great soup to have on a cold wintery night. I didn't use celery, as we don't care for it. I also just used shredded sharp cheddar cheese. The soup was wonderfully waming and perfect with homemade dinner rolls. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Wonderful soup on a cold day!!! Easy to make with most of the ingredients already on hand. Omitted the green chilies because that's not really our style. Also use whatever cheese I have in the fridge and some bacon bits (homemade) on top! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 684) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States