Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This is a very delish recipe!! My sister and I added slices of beef smoked sausage when the onions were carmalizing and boy is it the best soup ever!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINNSALLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This soup was WONDERFUL! I used half chicken broth and half water. Also, I followed someone elses idea and crumbled bacon in it...YUM! Oh yeah...instead of celery I used finely chopped fresh garlic and sauteed it with the onions. Made some garlic bread to go with the soup and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Delicious. I added 3 additional cups of water for more of a 'soup' feel and also chopped bacon bits served over the top make this recipe a winner. (I also used salted butter, added pepper and 2 bay leaves to the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was a good potato soup. I used chicken broth instead of water and 12 oz of Velveeta cheese but it was a little bland still so I think next time I will add bacon or additional spices. I only had 1/2% milk on hand so I used that but 2% or more or adding the sour cream like others suggested would make it creamier tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This was a good recipe but desperately needed SALT. My husband and I were passing the salt back and forth through the whole meal. I used red potatoes, and used 1/2 chicken broth/ 1/2 water like other reviewers said. I also did not have sliced cheese but used 1 cup of grated cheddar cheese instead. I substituted carrots for the celery, and also added a can of corn at the end. It was good once I added a lot of salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This was really good!! I added a little Ham to ours.....but plan on adding more next time. My husband had 3 bowls....which surprised me becaues he does not like potatos but loved it in this soup. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Perry, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Very good soup to make for a rainy day! Used 1/2 chicken broth, 1/2 water. A couple slices of american cheese and some cheddar. A little garlic salt and some pepper. YUMMMMMMM..... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This soup was so very easy and my husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This is easy and tasty. I followed suggestions and added 1 chicken stock cube along with the water (if you don't use chicken broth/stock then be sure to salt the potatoes as they cook for a much better flavor, not so bland), added cheddar instead of processed cheese (used about 3/4 c grated), added 1/4t garlic granules and topped with green onions as I didn't have parsley. It was really a nice blend of flavors and so easy to make. I'm making it again tonight -- twice in one week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I was looking for a recipe to mimic my dad's potato soup. This didn't do it--it was better! (Sorry, Dad.) The texture was absolutely perfect. I left the potato skins on, used 12oz of Velveeta instead of the cheese slices (didn't want to open all those packages), and added a little garlic salt and black pepper at the end. I didn't mash the potatoes as others have suggested, but I did kind of poke at them with a spoon when they were really tender so that they fell apart into smaller pieces. Turned out delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States