Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Really good soup, and fairly easy to make. We added bacon like many other people did. Very yummy in a soup bowl. Definitely keeps you warm at night and fills you up quite easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santaquin, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I have tried to make cheesy potato soup before and failed. This one was IT! I used the dried potato flakes instead of flour, salted butter, sharp cheddar cheese and some Velveeta cheese instead of the slices and I used dried parsley instead of fresh. Four adults and many comments later, I had one large serving left! I'm passing it on. Thank you for a winter-ready recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was a great recipe - I did however add to it...I used heavy whipping cream instead of milk to make it super creamy, chicken broth instead of water to give it a little extra flavor and Pancetta (Italian Bacon). The Pancetta gives it a really nice flavor, especially if you like meat in your potato soup. I think I only used four slices because that's all I had left but I'll try adding more next time. I just sauteed it with the onions and butter (left out the celery) and the soup turned out really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Based on all of the other reviews, I too, made several changes (that is why the 4 stars instead of 5). I used all broth instead of water, added carrots and garlic to the saute, and a pinch of red pepper flakes and white pepper while sauteing. I used ten small yukon gold potatoes and hand mashed them in the pot after cooking - that way I only needed to use half of the flour/milk mixture. For the cheese, I used half velveeta and half tillamook sharp cheddar (shredded). I, also had to add about a TBLS of salt along the way. Now it is fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This soup was great. I deviated the recipe slightly based on tips from others on this recipe. Added garlic to the celery, onion sautee mixture. Used cheddar instead of American cheese or Velveeta. Added diced ham. Served in a bread bowl with freshly diced tomatoes, a little shredded cheddar and fresh parsley. My first time making soup and it definitely won't be the last. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is sooo good. Its now my standard and my husband always requests that I double the recipe so he can have as much as he wants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This is the best tasting potatoe soup I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Extra tasty. I left the parsley out, and added some bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littlechef
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Yummmm! I am so glad I found this recipe. I love cheese and after having cheese soup at a local restaurant, I thought I would try making my own. This soup is even better than the restaurant one! I did make a few changes after reading some reviews. I used salted butter and substituted half the amount of water with chicken broth to give it some flavor. I also added some green onions on top instead of parsley. This one is definitely a keeper. Will make often! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Wonderful! I added finely diced carrots in with the potatoes and garnished with sour cream and bacon. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States