Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was a good potato soup and was relatively easy to make. I think it needed a bit more spice, but since I am not a strong cook (I am working on that, which is why I am here), I am not sure what to add to improve it. Would probably try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
My very picky husband loved this! Super easy. I didn't have celery so I added celery salt while I sauteed the onions. I also used chicken broth instead of water. Next time I'll add a little more salt and some pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by femnav

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I think I had assumed from the recipe that this would be a creamier and thicker soup than it actually was. I was a little watery for what we were looking for and not very cheesy tasting, even after adding heaps more cheese. Still, it was a good soup despite not quite being what was expected. So, good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This soup was delicious! I used shredded Velveeta cheese. My family really enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris
Home Town: Midlothian, Illinois, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Really good soup, and fairly easy to make. We added bacon like many other people did. Very yummy in a soup bowl. Definitely keeps you warm at night and fills you up quite easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santaquin, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I have tried to make cheesy potato soup before and failed. This one was IT! I used the dried potato flakes instead of flour, salted butter, sharp cheddar cheese and some Velveeta cheese instead of the slices and I used dried parsley instead of fresh. Four adults and many comments later, I had one large serving left! I'm passing it on. Thank you for a winter-ready recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was a great recipe - I did however add to it...I used heavy whipping cream instead of milk to make it super creamy, chicken broth instead of water to give it a little extra flavor and Pancetta (Italian Bacon). The Pancetta gives it a really nice flavor, especially if you like meat in your potato soup. I think I only used four slices because that's all I had left but I'll try adding more next time. I just sauteed it with the onions and butter (left out the celery) and the soup turned out really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Based on all of the other reviews, I too, made several changes (that is why the 4 stars instead of 5). I used all broth instead of water, added carrots and garlic to the saute, and a pinch of red pepper flakes and white pepper while sauteing. I used ten small yukon gold potatoes and hand mashed them in the pot after cooking - that way I only needed to use half of the flour/milk mixture. For the cheese, I used half velveeta and half tillamook sharp cheddar (shredded). I, also had to add about a TBLS of salt along the way. Now it is fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This soup was great. I deviated the recipe slightly based on tips from others on this recipe. Added garlic to the celery, onion sautee mixture. Used cheddar instead of American cheese or Velveeta. Added diced ham. Served in a bread bowl with freshly diced tomatoes, a little shredded cheddar and fresh parsley. My first time making soup and it definitely won't be the last. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is sooo good. Its now my standard and my husband always requests that I double the recipe so he can have as much as he wants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States