Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I made this recipe last week for my family. I did change a few things though. I omitted the celery because hubby does not like it. I used a combination of Velveeta & cheddar instead of sliced American cheese. I used chicken broth instead of water and I used evaporated milk as opposed to the other. I added salt, black pepper and onion salt. I added chopped ham and bacon bits. The soup turned out great and my family of 4 (and one guest) ate it all up in just 2 days! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spencerquartet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pekin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Fantastic soup. Made a few changes- Omitted the onions (hubby doesn't like them), added garlic, thyme, and oregano while sauteing. Used cheddar instead of american cheese. Big hit for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
The slices of American cheese did not add good flavor to the soup. I would add both a better quality cheese and less of it to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Definitely add garlic, sour cream, salt and pepper! And I substituted half the water for chicken broth and cheddar instead of American, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
this was amazing.. i did the whole 2 cup chicken broth two cups water and ti really help with the flavor. it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Very yummy! I added a little salt and pepper, and garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
All I can say is delicious!!! I did use chicken stock instead of water and 1/2 velveeta and 1/2 cheddar. Perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Great Recipe! Instead of American slices I used cheddar cheese curds and through it in a crock pot. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Kansas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I have made this a handful of times and it never disappoints. It’s great with a green salad and some crusty warm bread. Very yummy and sure to please anyone. My 16 year old son gets excited when I tell him….”Honey, I’m making your favorite cheesy soup!”
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
good base - added dried minced garlic, chili powder, scallions, salt & pepper, and i used shredded chedar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States