Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is a fantastic base recipe, but I did make some minor changes. Definitely substitute half the water with broth - I used vegetable broth, but you could also use chicken. I substituted 16 oz of Cheddar and Monterey Jack for the processed American cheese and I also added about 2 tbs of garlic to the onion / butter saute. You will also need to add salt and pepper to the boiling potatoes, which the recipe doesn't mention. Finally, I completely eliminated the celery. I didn't see the need for it. I am giving this 4 stars because of the changes I made, but it was a wonderful comfort dish on a cool autumn day. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Let me start by saying I LOVE a good potato soup. But I had a lot of trouble with this recipe. I used eight potatoes (large baking potatoes), but that was WAY too much potato. I couldn't even fit all the potato into the pot. It was impossible to stir the potatoes, and some burned to the bottom. Maybe I should have used small yellow potatoes? The recipe doesn't really specify. Also, I don't eat American "cheese," so I attempted to substitute with sharp cheddar--but since real cheese doesn't come in prepackaged slices, I didn't know exactly how much real cheese to add. The end result was a thick paste, somewhere between soup and mashed potatoes. It was not particularly cheesy or flavorful--just tasted like potato. I'll keep looking for a more precise cheesy soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Love it !!! My Family loves it as well. Super easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
So good! I made this for dinner today, with these changes: I added two carrots, 3 vegetable bullion cubes, and used cheddar cheese instead of American. It was DELICIOUS!!! I will absolutely make this again. My daughter and her friend ranted and raved about it, they loved it so much. Saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Made this for a party and everyone had seconds! Thanks for a delicious soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Made this twice - first time as is - okay. Next time, used suggestion to make it with chicken broth instead of water. When potatoes were cooked, I did lightly mash some of them to add thickness to the soup. I tried about 1-1/2 c. shredded swiss cheese in place of the american slices and added about 1 c. diced ham and a few cooked crumbled slices of bacon. Plenty of salt in it already, but did add ground black pepper. HOME RUN!!!! Yummmmm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
My two toddlers, husband and I all enjoyed this soup! It was cheesy, velvety and hearty. I snuck in some carrots. I steamed them in the microwave. Then I pureed them with a little of the potato water and a big spoonful of cooked potato chunks. It was a great way to add more vitamins... and it thickened the soup also. I served this with some homemade bread and a salad with bleu cheese & garlic vinaigrette. It was a fantastic meal for a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Won't make this again. I tried the crock pot version and it was tasteless, to watery. No thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shiraz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Wonderfully easy soup and yummy! My son even liked it and he's hard to please. We added toppings of bacon, green onions, and shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
this soup was great! substituted 2 cups cheddar cheese and added leftover christmas ham....and it was a HIT!!! Definitely a keepr at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States