Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I think this soup is great with some alterations. I used low sodium chicken broth instead of water. I also sauteed minced garlic with the onions and celery. Instead of cheese slices I use either Velveeta or Cheese Whiz. I also add either bacon pieces or diced ham at the end. It is overall a great recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Easy and good. I used this as a jumping off point and made everything in one stockpot adding one container of Trader Joe's Mirepoix and three cloves of garlic along with bacon strips to start with, quartered Yukon Golds, then later mashed them in the pot. Also added 2 teaspoons Dijon mustard. I know that's not exactly the recipe but I always improvise and cook with some abandonment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This recipe is simple and easy, and is by far the best potato soup I've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Nice soup. Definitely needed more seasoning but overall a nice simple soup. Makes a whole bunch so it would be great for a pitch in a group lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is a fantastic base recipe, but I did make some minor changes. Definitely substitute half the water with broth - I used vegetable broth, but you could also use chicken. I substituted 16 oz of Cheddar and Monterey Jack for the processed American cheese and I also added about 2 tbs of garlic to the onion / butter saute. You will also need to add salt and pepper to the boiling potatoes, which the recipe doesn't mention. Finally, I completely eliminated the celery. I didn't see the need for it. I am giving this 4 stars because of the changes I made, but it was a wonderful comfort dish on a cool autumn day. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Let me start by saying I LOVE a good potato soup. But I had a lot of trouble with this recipe. I used eight potatoes (large baking potatoes), but that was WAY too much potato. I couldn't even fit all the potato into the pot. It was impossible to stir the potatoes, and some burned to the bottom. Maybe I should have used small yellow potatoes? The recipe doesn't really specify. Also, I don't eat American "cheese," so I attempted to substitute with sharp cheddar--but since real cheese doesn't come in prepackaged slices, I didn't know exactly how much real cheese to add. The end result was a thick paste, somewhere between soup and mashed potatoes. It was not particularly cheesy or flavorful--just tasted like potato. I'll keep looking for a more precise cheesy soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Love it !!! My Family loves it as well. Super easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
So good! I made this for dinner today, with these changes: I added two carrots, 3 vegetable bullion cubes, and used cheddar cheese instead of American. It was DELICIOUS!!! I will absolutely make this again. My daughter and her friend ranted and raved about it, they loved it so much. Saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Made this for a party and everyone had seconds! Thanks for a delicious soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Made this twice - first time as is - okay. Next time, used suggestion to make it with chicken broth instead of water. When potatoes were cooked, I did lightly mash some of them to add thickness to the soup. I tried about 1-1/2 c. shredded swiss cheese in place of the american slices and added about 1 c. diced ham and a few cooked crumbled slices of bacon. Plenty of salt in it already, but did add ground black pepper. HOME RUN!!!! Yummmmm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States