Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Now this is a good potato cheese soup! I subbed cheddar for american cheese (yuck) and evaporated milk, since I was out of regular milk. Also, 8 potatoes is way too many, I used only 4 and that was plenty. Loved this soup, will make again, an easy lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I have made this for years and it is always loved!!!! I use 3 cans of chicken broth and no water and add black pepper to taste. Excellent and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I added some leftover bacon and ham from Christmas breakfast, some corn, and 8 oz. sour cream plus salt and pepper. I left out the parsley. Oh, and I used 16 oz Velveeta instead of American cheese singles. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This rating is based on changes that I made but that is why I love this site! The reviews are so helpful in making the recipe to your own taste! With that being said, after reading the reviews, I used 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken broth, salted butter (will use unsalted next time), added garlic salt and pepper, I also fried about 10 pieces of bacon and added that, and used the small package of velveeta. I did not use the parsley. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This is the best meal I have ever had. Don't follow anyone else's suggestions and use the real deal. I love it! I cut up the celery a bit smaller, but that's all! This is the best cheesy potato soup I have ever had! I love this! This is my 1st or 2nd favorite meal ever. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This really is a great base for cheesy potato soup. Chicken or vegetable stock really must be used instead of water for flavor. I added a bit of carrot to the veg mix along with freshly minced garlic. I also added red pepper for a kick along with corn and bacon before serving. I used cheddar cheese which was great. I mashed some of the potatoes for thickness and texture. Milk is yummy and cream is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I think this soup is great with some alterations. I used low sodium chicken broth instead of water. I also sauteed minced garlic with the onions and celery. Instead of cheese slices I use either Velveeta or Cheese Whiz. I also add either bacon pieces or diced ham at the end. It is overall a great recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Easy and good. I used this as a jumping off point and made everything in one stockpot adding one container of Trader Joe's Mirepoix and three cloves of garlic along with bacon strips to start with, quartered Yukon Golds, then later mashed them in the pot. Also added 2 teaspoons Dijon mustard. I know that's not exactly the recipe but I always improvise and cook with some abandonment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This recipe is simple and easy, and is by far the best potato soup I've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Nice soup. Definitely needed more seasoning but overall a nice simple soup. Makes a whole bunch so it would be great for a pitch in a group lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States