Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
The soup was great I added garlic and chopped bacon with the onion and didn't use celery I also replaced chicken broth with the water. My husband said it was the best soup he had ever had . Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Laymance

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I made this for my family and it was great for a quick dinner. I did change some things as others suggested, I used 4c chicken stalk instead of water, salted butter, no onions (DH doesn't do onions) I used a bit of onion powder instead (what he doesnt know won't hurt him right!), also some garlic powder, velveta instead of cheese slices and cooked up some bacon to put on top. It tasted very good - but I think if I would have follwed the recipe it would have been very bland. I will def make this again but I will keep my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
needs a little more kick...i added garlic...but otherwise delicious and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This soup is great and I've made it several times. I like my soup a little runnier, so I tend to add more milk or a bit of water to thin it out, but that's personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
My family loved this recipe. It was super easy to make. I only made a few changes. I added a chicken boullion cube, a package of real bacon bits and used salted butter. Yum. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESTOES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This was a great basic recipe. I will add more meat of some sort (bacon or sausage) and more spices for flavorings. Great start though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This was very good, although I did alter the recipe a bit to our tastes. I cut out the celery since my husband hates it. I used half water / half chicken stock and sharp cheddar cheese instead of American cheese. We topped it off with bacon crumbles and a dollop of sour cream to make baked potato soup. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I took the advice of other reviews, using chicken broth and garlic. At the end of cooking, I added bacon, chives, shredded cheese, and sour cream. It was like a loaded bake potato soup. I also added a little Tony Chacheres to spice it up. My husband and I loved it and will definitely have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
i added carrots and broccoli for some more variation and omitted the celery. i used some celery seed instead, about 1/2 tsp or so. i also used bagged preshredded cheddar cheese instead of the slices. this is easy to reheat the next day - just add some milk to thin it out a little, warm it up and you're ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artgrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly but wasn't as cheesy as I had hoped. Plus a little on the bland side :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veronica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States