Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RobMartindill
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Put jalapeño in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobMartindill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This wonderful recipe reminds me of one of the most popular soups in Ecuador. It is called Locro. It is made with mushy potatoes, fresh yellow cheese & chicken broth. They serve it with sliced avocado, a circle of red or green baby bell pepper and a sprinkling of popcorn on top. I used Velveeta when I got home & it turned out great. Spread the avocado out like stems. Top the stems with a circle of pepper & place a popcorn in the middle of the pepper. It will look like a flower on your soup. Beautiful presentation for guests! I serve it with Red Lobster Cheese Biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I loved this recipe even though I made a few changes. I used 1 pound of velveta cheese, 2 cubes of chicken bullion, garlic, cajun spice, and fresh parsley. My husband is a coon a** from Louisiana so he eats spice in everything!!! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashton Folse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
good recipe, i like the american cheese and i also add cheddar cheese soup.I make this in my turkey fryer pot cause i have 4 kids who eat alot. I have added corn,green beans, carrots, name it ill put it in there. Its potato soup! cant screw it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
The soup was delicous! Easy to make, and only took around an hour. I did as the others were saying and used half water half chicken broth, and I also used sharp cheddar rather than processed cheese. I added a little bit of green onion as well. Next time I make the soup I'm thinking of adding some broccoli. With a side of steamed vegetables and garlic bread, it was an excellent dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
this soup is a great base for just getting started, and tweking it to your familiy's taste is so much fun and so easy, being a kid who cooks for the whole family is hard sometimes, but a good potato soup is an easy stay in one place and chop and dump, with AMAZING results. step up this recipe with a bit of bacon grease and crisped bacon to the top, half chicken stalk, and half beef, delicious and hearty, treat this like a baked potato and you can't go wrong ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Fantastic weather u change a lil or leave as is...very good...husband had 3rds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I've made this several times now and it always turns out great. We like garlic so I add some fresh minced garlic to the celery and onion and it gives it a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
i followed the recipe but added some bacon bits and some jalapeno squeeze cheese came out awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snyder, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I also used the base to this recipe...I changed a few things but not many I used velvetta cheese and used chicken bouillon cubes instead of just water. Over all an excellent dish! Also used celery salt instead of celery but to basically give it the flavor, since my children do not care for celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States