Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Fantastic weather u change a lil or leave as is...very good...husband had 3rds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I've made this several times now and it always turns out great. We like garlic so I add some fresh minced garlic to the celery and onion and it gives it a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
i followed the recipe but added some bacon bits and some jalapeno squeeze cheese came out awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snyder, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I also used the base to this recipe...I changed a few things but not many I used velvetta cheese and used chicken bouillon cubes instead of just water. Over all an excellent dish! Also used celery salt instead of celery but to basically give it the flavor, since my children do not care for celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Now this is a good potato cheese soup! I subbed cheddar for american cheese (yuck) and evaporated milk, since I was out of regular milk. Also, 8 potatoes is way too many, I used only 4 and that was plenty. Loved this soup, will make again, an easy lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I have made this for years and it is always loved!!!! I use 3 cans of chicken broth and no water and add black pepper to taste. Excellent and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I added some leftover bacon and ham from Christmas breakfast, some corn, and 8 oz. sour cream plus salt and pepper. I left out the parsley. Oh, and I used 16 oz Velveeta instead of American cheese singles. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This rating is based on changes that I made but that is why I love this site! The reviews are so helpful in making the recipe to your own taste! With that being said, after reading the reviews, I used 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken broth, salted butter (will use unsalted next time), added garlic salt and pepper, I also fried about 10 pieces of bacon and added that, and used the small package of velveeta. I did not use the parsley. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This is the best meal I have ever had. Don't follow anyone else's suggestions and use the real deal. I love it! I cut up the celery a bit smaller, but that's all! This is the best cheesy potato soup I have ever had! I love this! This is my 1st or 2nd favorite meal ever. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This really is a great base for cheesy potato soup. Chicken or vegetable stock really must be used instead of water for flavor. I added a bit of carrot to the veg mix along with freshly minced garlic. I also added red pepper for a kick along with corn and bacon before serving. I used cheddar cheese which was great. I mashed some of the potatoes for thickness and texture. Milk is yummy and cream is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States