Cheesy Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
The soup was delicous! Easy to make, and only took around an hour. I did as the others were saying and used half water half chicken broth, and I also used sharp cheddar rather than processed cheese. I added a little bit of green onion as well. Next time I make the soup I'm thinking of adding some broccoli. With a side of steamed vegetables and garlic bread, it was an excellent dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
this soup is a great base for just getting started, and tweking it to your familiy's taste is so much fun and so easy, being a kid who cooks for the whole family is hard sometimes, but a good potato soup is an easy stay in one place and chop and dump, with AMAZING results. step up this recipe with a bit of bacon grease and crisped bacon to the top, half chicken stalk, and half beef, delicious and hearty, treat this like a baked potato and you can't go wrong ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Fantastic weather u change a lil or leave as is...very good...husband had 3rds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I've made this several times now and it always turns out great. We like garlic so I add some fresh minced garlic to the celery and onion and it gives it a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
i followed the recipe but added some bacon bits and some jalapeno squeeze cheese came out awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snyder, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I also used the base to this recipe...I changed a few things but not many I used velvetta cheese and used chicken bouillon cubes instead of just water. Over all an excellent dish! Also used celery salt instead of celery but to basically give it the flavor, since my children do not care for celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Now this is a good potato cheese soup! I subbed cheddar for american cheese (yuck) and evaporated milk, since I was out of regular milk. Also, 8 potatoes is way too many, I used only 4 and that was plenty. Loved this soup, will make again, an easy lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I have made this for years and it is always loved!!!! I use 3 cans of chicken broth and no water and add black pepper to taste. Excellent and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I added some leftover bacon and ham from Christmas breakfast, some corn, and 8 oz. sour cream plus salt and pepper. I left out the parsley. Oh, and I used 16 oz Velveeta instead of American cheese singles. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This rating is based on changes that I made but that is why I love this site! The reviews are so helpful in making the recipe to your own taste! With that being said, after reading the reviews, I used 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken broth, salted butter (will use unsalted next time), added garlic salt and pepper, I also fried about 10 pieces of bacon and added that, and used the small package of velveeta. I did not use the parsley. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States