Cheesy Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
I have tried this recipe twice, the first time exactly how it is written, the second time I skipped the sugar and it was far better. Sugar makes it too sweet for potato sald. Without it, it tastes just like a "loaded" baked potato. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I loved this recipe, but altered it slightly to give it more flavor. I chopped up a few hard boiled eggs and added dill, garlic powder, onion powder, ground mustard and a pound of pepper bacon (versus bacon bits). I have been asked to bring it to several family get-togethers and my picky nephew called it "heavenly." Will make it all summer for a variety of gatherings and events. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
I work at a restaurant and brought this in for all the other "foodies" to try. They loved it!! I made 2 versions, one with celery and one without, celery won hands down. I did not add as much celery as I would for a traditional potato salad. I did not add the sugar. I substituted fresh chives for the green onions. The bacon was added at the very end to ensure it wasn't soggy. If you make it the night before, be sure to leave it out for a little while before serving, the sour cream makes the dish set up kind of hard. This will be made many times over. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Otsego, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This is very good but leave out the sugar. To sweet with the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I cut the sugar in half and used regular baking potatoes. It turned out great and the level of sweetness seemed perfect to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
I use diced bacon instead of the bacon bits. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Hallett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
We used the sugar and thought it was fantastic! I could see it being delicious w/out it as well. Great recipe and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
I didnt use the sugar. My husband loved this recipe. Alot like a baked potato! YUMMY! Will definately make again. Much better than traditional potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
Very good. Just left out the sugar....diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
a refreshing addition to our 4th family gathering. even the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cullman, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States