Cheesy Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Made this for a BBQ and took none home! That was a first for me. Everyone loved it and got a few requests for the recipe. Will definitely be making it for the 4th this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Skaggs Frisone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I made this for a cookout last weekend, and it was a huge hit! I usually make potato salad, but wanted something different.... This was perfect! I only added about a teaspoon of sugar, just for personal preference.... And like other reviewers said, it tasted like a loaded baked potato (and who doesn't like that?!!) I cooked about 5 slices of bacon and crumbled it in.... and I added salt and pepper.... DELICIOUS! Thanks for a great recipe--- I will be making this for picnics all summer long! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Very good and easy! I too skipped the sugar. Used regular russet potatoes (about 5) b/c that is what I had on hand and regular onion because I was out of chives. Also used left-over turkey bacon. Will make again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Made for A BBQ what a hit!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RILEYMOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This tastes great but I omitted the sugar. It is not supposed to be a sweet salad. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Made this for a reunion and it was a HUGE hit! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I understood the concept a 'DIFFERENT' potato salad, and I was open minded to that, I ate it, BUT, would not repeat. The sugar just did not work. I felt it could be made into a great recipe with a little tweaking. Needed some salt for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
The potatoes weren't completely cold when I made this and it tasted amazing - a lot like loaded baked potatoes. Then I put it in the fridge and it's not nearly as good cold - the flavours aren't as strong. I did add salt, pepper and garlic powder when making it but otherwise followed the recipe. Oh, and eggs since I already had a few hard boiled waiting for the salad before I found this recipe. All in all, more calories than other salads with the cheese and bacon and when served cold I don't think it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
our new favorite potato salad. you must try this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oconto Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I disagree with some other reviewers about leaving out the sugar altogether. This is my go-to potato salad because it's fast and delicious and everyone loves it! I go heavy on the sour cream and mayo because I use a 3lb bag of red potatoes. I go a little light on the sugar, but I find it's better with the sugar, which balances the sour cream and mayo. I use real bacon bits in the dressing as well as a garnish on top and it is wonderful and could not be easier (no boiling eggs, chopping celery, etc. etc.)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States