Cheesy Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Made this for a BBQ and took none home! That was a first for me. Everyone loved it and got a few requests for the recipe. Will definitely be making it for the 4th this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Skaggs Frisone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I made this for a cookout last weekend, and it was a huge hit! I usually make potato salad, but wanted something different.... This was perfect! I only added about a teaspoon of sugar, just for personal preference.... And like other reviewers said, it tasted like a loaded baked potato (and who doesn't like that?!!) I cooked about 5 slices of bacon and crumbled it in.... and I added salt and pepper.... DELICIOUS! Thanks for a great recipe--- I will be making this for picnics all summer long! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Very good and easy! I too skipped the sugar. Used regular russet potatoes (about 5) b/c that is what I had on hand and regular onion because I was out of chives. Also used left-over turkey bacon. Will make again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Made for A BBQ what a hit!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RILEYMOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This tastes great but I omitted the sugar. It is not supposed to be a sweet salad. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Made this for a reunion and it was a HUGE hit! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I understood the concept a 'DIFFERENT' potato salad, and I was open minded to that, I ate it, BUT, would not repeat. The sugar just did not work. I felt it could be made into a great recipe with a little tweaking. Needed some salt for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
The potatoes weren't completely cold when I made this and it tasted amazing - a lot like loaded baked potatoes. Then I put it in the fridge and it's not nearly as good cold - the flavours aren't as strong. I did add salt, pepper and garlic powder when making it but otherwise followed the recipe. Oh, and eggs since I already had a few hard boiled waiting for the salad before I found this recipe. All in all, more calories than other salads with the cheese and bacon and when served cold I don't think it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
our new favorite potato salad. you must try this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oconto Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I disagree with some other reviewers about leaving out the sugar altogether. This is my go-to potato salad because it's fast and delicious and everyone loves it! I go heavy on the sour cream and mayo because I use a 3lb bag of red potatoes. I go a little light on the sugar, but I find it's better with the sugar, which balances the sour cream and mayo. I use real bacon bits in the dressing as well as a garnish on top and it is wonderful and could not be easier (no boiling eggs, chopping celery, etc. etc.)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States