Cheesy Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I made this as is but without the bacon bits (nobody in my family likes them) and with a little less sugar and it was a hit. I feel that it was missing something (dill or garlic or something but can't put my finger on it) so will experiment next time I make it. My father however loved it so just personal preference. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Best Potato Salad I have ever made. Everyone said that it was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia Lawson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Oh my gosh, this was delicious! I only added about a tbsp of sugar, and I also added garlic powder, dill, seasoning salt, and salt and pepper, and used real bacon, and I think I just eyed the cheese, so I am sure it was way more than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Really really great potato salad. We crave this, and this is the only kind we make. I call it "Baked Potato" Salad, because it has all the toppings you put on a baked potato. This recipe does not need to be followed exactly in my experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
As written, this is incredibly bland. I made it as stated, even though I was skeptical, and I was right. I added lots of salt and black pepper, garlic and parsley and it was much better. I ended up adding a splash of vinegar to offset the icky sweet taste from the sugar, even though I added way less. The idea was good, a 'loaded baked potato salad' but poorly executed by this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Loved it! I skipped the sugar and was liberal with the onions, cheese and bacon bits (I used hormel- very good, tasted fresh). I would definitely recommend this. Hubby loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Efland, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Yummy....I used all low fat options here and it was still very good....low fat sour cream, mayo, and turkey bacon....green onions are key...so dont leave them out. I also decreased the sugar to approx. 2 tblspns....maybe a lil less....and could still taste plenty of sweetness....I think the 1/4c would be overkill. A tasty potato salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
A 10 star recipe! I have never liked potato salad until now. This is like eating a loaded baked potato, but only better. The only thing I did different was to use real bacon, beacuse it is what I had on hand. The leftovers are even better the next day as the flavors have blended even more. I can't wait to take this to all the picnics this summer, as I know it is going to be a total hit. Thank you Kennedy for this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
A good jumping off point, but I had to jazz it up... With my additions, it is REALLY GOOD!!! I added 1 ts onion powder, 1/4 ts paprika, 1/2 ts each salt and pepper, plus I cut the sugar to 1 TB. Mixed the "sauce" first, then just added in the "solids." 10 minutes was too long to boil, next time I will do 8-9... I can NEVER seem to get the potatoes cooked right for potato salad for some reason, I usually under-do them but this time they were slightly over-done. I also used 6 slices of bacon crumbled rather than the bits, and subbed pepperjack cause I have a brick of it right now and also thought it needed the kick. With these switcheroos it was awesome, but I think without the addition of, at a minimum, SALT and pepper this would be rather bland, even with all the yummy stuff in there... Bottom line, cut (or omit) the sugar, add seasoning and you've got a WINNER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I thought this was yummy. I followed recipe but omitted the sugar and mixed the bacon and cheese and green onions in instead of putting on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States