Cheesy Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
GOSH DARN' IT! I saw this recipe and got excited because it sounds like it might taste like the potato salad from my favorite hamburger place.... I was so sure it would be AWESOME that I doubled the recipe to bring to a big after wedding party for my nephew tomorrow.....And it is WAY TOO SWEET! I always read the reviews when I pick a recipe but I found this recipe a few months back and saved it and so if I had read the reviews I dont remember.... But most everyone is leaving out the sugar and I am wishing I did too. Ahhh well.... Hopefully someone at the party really likes too sweet potato salad.... Other than the dreaded sugar I think it would be terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Great starting point, but there are NO SEASONINGS as written -- How good can that really be?!?! Added garlic & onion powders, dill weed, salt & pepper. I like to salt & pepper the potatoes right in the strainer while they're still moist and hot. Added about 1/3 c of diced celery for some crunch & flavor. Use at least the full amt of green onion, cheese & bacon bits, then ADD MORE on top for garnish. NO SUGAR! Just doesn't really seem to belong in this one....if you add it, add a bit at a time and taste along the way. Good place to start - but unless your tastebuds lean toward the bland side, add some seasonings for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Minor changes made it the best potato salad ever! Used half a pack of real bacon instead of the bits and used sharp cheddar cheese. Did not use the sugar and added: dill, ground pepper, and onions (which were cooked in the bacon fat left on the griddle). I put the bacon, green onions, cheese and my additional ingredients throughout the entire mixture, as opposed to reserving half, etc. for on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I followed the advice of many and didn't put in the sugar. Flavor was great! But it was dry. The potatoes soaked up the "sauce" and when eating it was like having peanut butter stuck to the top of my mouth. Will try again but with more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelley
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! Because of the reviews regarding the sugar, I started out with 1 tablespoon incriments. And stopped at the 1 tablespoon. Simple delicious! Putting in my favorites folder! (if it seems to be on the dry side for some of you, just add a bit more mayo or sour cream)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
It's also great warm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I too left our the sugar, and added a ton more of the bacon. I also added a bit of dried ranch dressing. It did taste like a cold baked potato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was a huge hit!!! I of course added more bacon and cheese.....gotta love the fattening stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockStar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This potato salad was not what I was looking for. I expected it to taste more like the potato salad that you get in delis, but it tasted more like a dry baked potato and after serving it once to my hubby, he requested that I put some boiled egg and mayo in it because it was dry. I would not make this again, but just go for a more traditional potato salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was outstanding! I was looking for something different to take to a cook out and this was definately what I was looking for. As other suggested, I omitted the sugar. I had a busy weekend, so the day before the picnic, I did the mayo/sour cream mixture, added parsley, onion powder, and bell pepper/garlic mix, let that chill over nite so the flavors would blend. Also, I used real crumpled bacon instead of the bits. Everybody loved it!! Thank you for this awsome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRISHGINA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States