Cheesy Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I thought this was very good...i used regular potatoes instead of red potatoes though and i browned bacon ends to put in it instead of using bacon bits. I am making it again tonight for a side dish. Its a nice change from regular potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Early Squidbilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Really good! Didn't add sugar (just didn't seem to fit??), but did add some seasonings per other reviewers. Try mixing a bit of dill pickle juice in...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Wow - this potato salad is delicious! It's like eating a loaded baked potato. I used light sour cream and Hellman's light mayo and left out the sugar. I also used a light Cheddar cheese and REAL bacon - a bit more than a Tbsp. This was very easy to put together, yet tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I left out the sugar, added some powdered ranch dressing to the mayo/sour cream and added a 3 oz pkg of REAL bacon bits/pieces right into the salad (No Baco's)...I could eat this whole thing myself. It tasted even better the next day, just add extra mayo/sour if your making it a day ahead since the sour will start to solidify. Thank you Kennedy5976, I'd been paying $5.99/lb for this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Okay, 5 stars because I made a few changes. First off, forget the sugar all together! Blek..not necessary. Next off, double your sauce and add ins. Thirdly, I added a heaping tablespoon of garlic seasoning (from Costco) and then another heaping tablespoon of dill. Absolutely perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILIBEAN2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
SKIP THE SUGAR! I started adding the 1/4 cup of sugar and realized ahead of time, that's a lot of sugar! I used about 1/2 Tbsp and in the end, that was still too sweet. Other than a sweet punch every so often, it was yummy! I used Mexican cheese and added more bacon for texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
LOVED IT! I also omitted the sugar and sort of eye-balled the other ingredients. I cooked my own bacon and mixed some in with the salad as well. Everyone really enjoyed this and I will be making it again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was pretty good, I thought it was better warmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
GOSH DARN' IT! I saw this recipe and got excited because it sounds like it might taste like the potato salad from my favorite hamburger place.... I was so sure it would be AWESOME that I doubled the recipe to bring to a big after wedding party for my nephew tomorrow.....And it is WAY TOO SWEET! I always read the reviews when I pick a recipe but I found this recipe a few months back and saved it and so if I had read the reviews I dont remember.... But most everyone is leaving out the sugar and I am wishing I did too. Ahhh well.... Hopefully someone at the party really likes too sweet potato salad.... Other than the dreaded sugar I think it would be terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Great starting point, but there are NO SEASONINGS as written -- How good can that really be?!?! Added garlic & onion powders, dill weed, salt & pepper. I like to salt & pepper the potatoes right in the strainer while they're still moist and hot. Added about 1/3 c of diced celery for some crunch & flavor. Use at least the full amt of green onion, cheese & bacon bits, then ADD MORE on top for garnish. NO SUGAR! Just doesn't really seem to belong in this one....if you add it, add a bit at a time and taste along the way. Good place to start - but unless your tastebuds lean toward the bland side, add some seasonings for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States