Cheesy Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Enjoyed it immensely! I am also reviewing it to offset the one star rating. Anyone who substitutes the primary ingredient (russet potatoes) to yams has no business rating & reviewing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernMaster

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Excellent! I grated the potato into my salad spinner full of cold water, then rinsed the potatoes and spun them dry. I omitted the onion salt and added 1/2 of a small white onion, finely diced. Instead of bacon bits, I fried 3 slices of bacon and crumbled it into the potato mixture. Initially I made 3 large pancakes then for the next batch I did much smaller ones, about a Tablespoon full each. We really liked the crispy edges. These are a little peppery, which we like but if I were making these for company I would cut the pepper to 1/2 tsp. Thanks for a great breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
These were a hit with my husband, and they are pretty easy to make. I do think that they might be better with shredded pre-cooked potatoes, as they were a bit gummy, but living in Mexico, I cannot get russet potatoes, and our potatoes are high in water content. All in all, well worth making again. Like another reviewer suggested, I think I'll add minced onion next time. Great side dish with ham and succotash! Thanks for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I found this recipe looking for a way to use up some leftover boiled potatoes. It didn't quite fit, as it calls for uncooked shredded potatoes, but I decided to wing it anyway, just mashing the potatoes. Glad I did, as these were delicious. Otherwise, I followed the recipe and would only change it by adding some fresh minced onion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Loved it. It was very easy and delicious. I added shredded yellow squash to amp up the veggie content, omitted the bacon but didn't need to increase the salt, between what it called for already plus the cheese, it was just right. I fried it on a griddle with just a light coating of oil and it turned out beautifully. Then I seasoned Greek yogurt with some sugar, garlic salt, chili powder, ground mustard and served it with the 'cakes instead of sour cream. Sriracha on my own (kids don't like heat) and it was moan worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Good eats :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yiayia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Photo by dfbour
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
When I found I was out of potatoes, I substituted them for yams. Cut the recipe down by a quarter...that's right, bacon-potato pancakes for one. I do work out 3-4 times a week and this isn't a regular thing for me so, I swear I'm healthier than this post will lead you to believe. Anyways, this was more like a paste going into the pan as opposed to pancake batter. Subsequently, it became clear about 10 minutes in that it would have to come out of the pan as a paste as well. That's okay, impromptu chef-as-creative-genius, voila. There really isn't much that holds this together so, all in all, this is more of a breakfast paste than you spoon feed yourself rather than pancakes. I would have preferred just the 4 pieces of bacon I put into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Mine are not as pancak-y looking as the other photos on this recipe but I did cut back to 2 potatoes so I adjusted the ingredients in half, and since all potatoes are different sizes it's hard to tell if everything evens out. Tasted great though, LOVED the bacon addition, which I fried up three pieces and chopped for these. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
It's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Delicious. Stuck to the recipe and worked out perfectly. Used the leftovers for breakfast with a poached egg. I am always on the lookout for new ideas on how to serve potatoes as a side dish, I was not disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States