Cheesy Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I HATED potato pancakes as a kid. These are nothing like what I remember. They are great, easy to make, and not the Grey goop I remember. They are golden awesomeness. I did use white instead of russet because that's what I had, and all cheddar. I used light cheese and egg beaters, and shredder instead of grating because I'm lazy and my food processor is a time saver. My two year old gobbled them up, and this is a really fussy toddler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Excellent and I would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I love this recipe! They were so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Made it for my family for breakfast. .. it was a hit. I added a dash of pepper and switched milk with whipping cream to give it a creamier texture. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jax-ie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I used left over Thanksgiving Mashed Potatoes and it was delicious! About 2 cups of mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nick
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Very delicious and makes quit a bit with such a small amount of ingredients. I would recommend trying some grated green or white onions. Plan to next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Used chunks of real bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I thought this recipe was okay. I think, I may be more of a purist when it comes to hash brown potatoes potatoes. This had a lot of flour and cheese for my taste. For the potatoes I used one bag of Simply shredded potatoes. I added the optional real bacon bits. To reduce the calories I baked them instead of pan frying. I sprayed a non stick muffin tin with cooking spray, filled all 12 cups, then sprayed the tops of the hashbrowns and baked them. That avoided using the 4 tablespoons of corn oil and 2 tablespoons of butter. Calculating the calories, as made, they equalled 136 calories a hashbrown muffin which is fantastic. I accidentally forgot the baking powder, but really wish I wouldnt have. It is necessary because they will be very heavy without it due to the amount of flour in this recipe. I baked them at 380 degrees for 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I had just received two bags of potatoes and needed to use them up when I found this recipe. I omitted the bacon bits and onion salt because I didn't have them, and I added some green onions instead. I served them for breakfast and my younger sister, who is VERY picky with her food, requested for more. These were delicious and super easy to put together! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
My daughter makes potato pancakes every Sunday for me, and I had her try them this way last time. She followed the recipe almost exactly, using a splash of milk rather than a half cup, real bacon, and mxing the butter into the cakes instead of with the oil. They were amazing! Crispy, cheesy, full of flavor! Wonderful recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States