Cheesy Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Mine are not as pancak-y looking as the other photos on this recipe but I did cut back to 2 potatoes so I adjusted the ingredients in half, and since all potatoes are different sizes it's hard to tell if everything evens out. Tasted great though, LOVED the bacon addition, which I fried up three pieces and chopped for these. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This recipe was easy to make. I used garlic powder insted of onion. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rosharon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Delicious. Stuck to the recipe and worked out perfectly. Used the leftovers for breakfast with a poached egg. I am always on the lookout for new ideas on how to serve potatoes as a side dish, I was not disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Excellent! I grated the potato into my salad spinner full of cold water, then rinsed the potatoes and spun them dry. I omitted the onion salt and added 1/2 of a small white onion, finely diced. Instead of bacon bits, I fried 3 slices of bacon and crumbled it into the potato mixture. Initially I made 3 large pancakes then for the next batch I did much smaller ones, about a Tablespoon full each. We really liked the crispy edges. These are a little peppery, which we like but if I were making these for company I would cut the pepper to 1/2 tsp. Thanks for a great breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Really good! Steve said they were lighter than my sister's. Maybe serving Tater Topping with them would be nice. Were good with syrup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Enjoyed it immensely! I am also reviewing it to offset the one star rating. Anyone who substitutes the primary ingredient (russet potatoes) to yams has no business rating & reviewing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernMaster

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Good recipe. My husband said "save this recipe, these are really good". This is easy to adapt to personal tastes or to ingredients on hand. I didn't add bacon or onion salt and used all cheddar since I didn't have any Parmesan. The first batch were not cooked long enough so they were gooey on the inside, the second batch I turned the heat down a bit and cooked them longer and they were perfect. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
These came out great! Next time I'll have to double the recipe. Mine came out looking like the pictures. Golden brown on the outside, yummy good on the inside. I did use russet's as called for in the recipe. I'm surprised the sweet potato user posted their picture of not following the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Loved it. It was very easy and delicious. I added shredded yellow squash to amp up the veggie content, omitted the bacon but didn't need to increase the salt, between what it called for already plus the cheese, it was just right. I fried it on a griddle with just a light coating of oil and it turned out beautifully. Then I seasoned Greek yogurt with some sugar, garlic salt, chili powder, ground mustard and served it with the 'cakes instead of sour cream. Sriracha on my own (kids don't like heat) and it was moan worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I enjoyed this recipe very much, it was a big hit with the rest of my family as well. I suggest dipping the pancakes into ranch dressing or sour cream, we tried both for an experiment and they tasted delicious. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States