Cheesy Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by dfbour
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
When I found I was out of potatoes, I substituted them for yams. Cut the recipe down by a quarter...that's right, bacon-potato pancakes for one. I do work out 3-4 times a week and this isn't a regular thing for me so, I swear I'm healthier than this post will lead you to believe. Anyways, this was more like a paste going into the pan as opposed to pancake batter. Subsequently, it became clear about 10 minutes in that it would have to come out of the pan as a paste as well. That's okay, impromptu chef-as-creative-genius, voila. There really isn't much that holds this together so, all in all, this is more of a breakfast paste than you spoon feed yourself rather than pancakes. I would have preferred just the 4 pieces of bacon I put into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
We enjoyed this recipe. I made one adjustment (other than scaling the recipe down to serve 3, which yielded 6 large cakes). I needed to make them wheat free, so I omitted the flour and subbed a Tbs of dehydrated potato flakes. This gave them the body needed to hold together. They were flavorful and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This recipe was easy to make. I used garlic powder insted of onion. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rosharon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Good recipe. My husband said "save this recipe, these are really good". This is easy to adapt to personal tastes or to ingredients on hand. I didn't add bacon or onion salt and used all cheddar since I didn't have any Parmesan. The first batch were not cooked long enough so they were gooey on the inside, the second batch I turned the heat down a bit and cooked them longer and they were perfect. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is a nice, hearty dish. I give it 4 stars rather than 5 because it seems like it needs a little bit of a kick. Perhaps using a sharper cheddar would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Really good! Steve said they were lighter than my sister's. Maybe serving Tater Topping with them would be nice. Were good with syrup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Mine are not as pancak-y looking as the other photos on this recipe but I did cut back to 2 potatoes so I adjusted the ingredients in half, and since all potatoes are different sizes it's hard to tell if everything evens out. Tasted great though, LOVED the bacon addition, which I fried up three pieces and chopped for these. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
These were a hit with my husband, and they are pretty easy to make. I do think that they might be better with shredded pre-cooked potatoes, as they were a bit gummy, but living in Mexico, I cannot get russet potatoes, and our potatoes are high in water content. All in all, well worth making again. Like another reviewer suggested, I think I'll add minced onion next time. Great side dish with ham and succotash! Thanks for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I found this recipe looking for a way to use up some leftover boiled potatoes. It didn't quite fit, as it calls for uncooked shredded potatoes, but I decided to wing it anyway, just mashing the potatoes. Glad I did, as these were delicious. Otherwise, I followed the recipe and would only change it by adding some fresh minced onion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Excellent! I grated the potato into my salad spinner full of cold water, then rinsed the potatoes and spun them dry. I omitted the onion salt and added 1/2 of a small white onion, finely diced. Instead of bacon bits, I fried 3 slices of bacon and crumbled it into the potato mixture. Initially I made 3 large pancakes then for the next batch I did much smaller ones, about a Tablespoon full each. We really liked the crispy edges. These are a little peppery, which we like but if I were making these for company I would cut the pepper to 1/2 tsp. Thanks for a great breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States