Cheesy Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by veggiegirl
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Very important note, if like me, you've never made potato anything (other than baked) before: After shredding, YOU MUST DRAIN THE WATER OUT/DRY THE POTATOS! Otherwise, you'll just end up with a gloppy, mush that will not turn out well :( Having said that, this recipe was easy, quick and delicious. A little bit on the salty side, but nothing that either cutting back on the butter/salt beforehand, or just using ketchup afterward, can't take care of (^v^)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gguadav
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I liked this recipe very much. The pancakes come out very greasy but with the flavor of the butter. Very yummy. I was worried about the potatoes being undercooked inside the pancake but they were perfectly cooked. I grated the potatoes and cheese in the blender because I don't have a grater. Overall, very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I made a few changes to make it vegan, and it turned out great. Even though I was just using leftover boiled potatoes (and a bit undercooked), I'll be making this again, with the same changes I made. I smashed the potatoes (there were still some chunks), which I think is less a hassle then shredding. I used "swiss" and "parmesan" cheese from my Uncheese cookbook, bacon-flavor bits, vegan butter, soy milk, and Energy Egg Replacer. I also added some green onion and basil (only because I had some, but I'm sure it would still be good without them). And unlike another reviewer who said that her's came out pasty, even after 10 minutes of cooking, mine was never pasty, not even to begin with, and 10 min would have been way too long. I cooked each side for about 2 min at about 325 degrees, and they all came out to be nice and golden and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I HATED potato pancakes as a kid. These are nothing like what I remember. They are great, easy to make, and not the Grey goop I remember. They are golden awesomeness. I did use white instead of russet because that's what I had, and all cheddar. I used light cheese and egg beaters, and shredder instead of grating because I'm lazy and my food processor is a time saver. My two year old gobbled them up, and this is a really fussy toddler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Excellent and I would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonia Gregan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I love this recipe! They were so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Made it for my family for breakfast. .. it was a hit. I added a dash of pepper and switched milk with whipping cream to give it a creamier texture. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jax-ie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I used left over Thanksgiving Mashed Potatoes and it was delicious! About 2 cups of mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nick
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Very delicious and makes quit a bit with such a small amount of ingredients. I would recommend trying some grated green or white onions. Plan to next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Used chunks of real bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States