Cheesy Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I made a few changes to make it vegan, and it turned out great. Even though I was just using leftover boiled potatoes (and a bit undercooked), I'll be making this again, with the same changes I made. I smashed the potatoes (there were still some chunks), which I think is less a hassle then shredding. I used "swiss" and "parmesan" cheese from my Uncheese cookbook, bacon-flavor bits, vegan butter, soy milk, and Energy Egg Replacer. I also added some green onion and basil (only because I had some, but I'm sure it would still be good without them). And unlike another reviewer who said that her's came out pasty, even after 10 minutes of cooking, mine was never pasty, not even to begin with, and 10 min would have been way too long. I cooked each side for about 2 min at about 325 degrees, and they all came out to be nice and golden and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I HATED potato pancakes as a kid. These are nothing like what I remember. They are great, easy to make, and not the Grey goop I remember. They are golden awesomeness. I did use white instead of russet because that's what I had, and all cheddar. I used light cheese and egg beaters, and shredder instead of grating because I'm lazy and my food processor is a time saver. My two year old gobbled them up, and this is a really fussy toddler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Excellent and I would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonia Gregan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I love this recipe! They were so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Made it for my family for breakfast. .. it was a hit. I added a dash of pepper and switched milk with whipping cream to give it a creamier texture. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jax-ie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I used left over Thanksgiving Mashed Potatoes and it was delicious! About 2 cups of mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nick
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Very delicious and makes quit a bit with such a small amount of ingredients. I would recommend trying some grated green or white onions. Plan to next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Used chunks of real bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I thought this recipe was okay. I think, I may be more of a purist when it comes to hash brown potatoes potatoes. This had a lot of flour and cheese for my taste. For the potatoes I used one bag of Simply shredded potatoes. I added the optional real bacon bits. To reduce the calories I baked them instead of pan frying. I sprayed a non stick muffin tin with cooking spray, filled all 12 cups, then sprayed the tops of the hashbrowns and baked them. That avoided using the 4 tablespoons of corn oil and 2 tablespoons of butter. Calculating the calories, as made, they equalled 136 calories a hashbrown muffin which is fantastic. I accidentally forgot the baking powder, but really wish I wouldnt have. It is necessary because they will be very heavy without it due to the amount of flour in this recipe. I baked them at 380 degrees for 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I had just received two bags of potatoes and needed to use them up when I found this recipe. I omitted the bacon bits and onion salt because I didn't have them, and I added some green onions instead. I served them for breakfast and my younger sister, who is VERY picky with her food, requested for more. These were delicious and super easy to put together! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States