Cheesy Potato Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
My 13 month old daughter and I really enjoyed this recipe. My husband did not like it stating it tasted too much like onions (he hates onions). I halved the recipe as I was only cooking for three. Also a food processor is a must. It only took me 10 minutes to prepare this. I did everything in the processor, shredding cheese and potatoes and chopping the onion. Also I only cooked for 60 minutes and the casserole was crisp and done. I had to cover with foil the last 15 minutes and it still burned a little on the sides. I will start with the foil if I make it again. This may be due to the larger pan I used (9x11.5). If you add more cheese I think these would taste just like the potatoes at Cracker Barrel. I also added about a teaspoon of dried mustard for extra flavor. I probably won't make again for home, but may take to a pot luck as I really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
Very good! I used two large pans and baked them at 350 for an hour then 400 degrees for 10 min. Great taste, will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
This potato loaf is wonderful for breakfast. Just slice off the number of pieces you need and fry or broil. YUM! I did cut the olive oil in half because it seemed a little greasy the first time I made this. Also, for more flavor I added garlic powder and a touch more salt. Thanks Mindy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
FYI: For those of you concerned with the potatoes turning brown, add water to the bowl of your food processor before grating. Just grate directly into the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
This is awesome! My boyfriend is Jewish and I make this when he's homesick for traditional food. Even the first time I made it, he said it's as good as any kugel he's ever had, and asks me to make it all the time! I made it for Easter dinner and my Mom and brother loved it too, it was gone right away and now she wants to make it. My only complaint is how long it takes to make- shredding 3 lbs of potatoes is hard work! I wonder if frozen hash browns would be okay in it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
This was really good, nice and oniony. Also really easy to make since I used the bags of already grated potatos you can find in the meat section of the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
My family and guests thought this recipe was delicious. Many comments about how good it was, including a good review from my picky son-in-law. I grated the potatoes and cheese in my food processor, which saved some time, although certainly handgrating would not be a problem. Instead of cooking in a loaf pan, I did as others suggested and used a 9 x 13 inch pan. I found they browned just fine without having to raise the temperature to do so. I also found they were done in about 45 minutes instead of 1 hour. I forgot to squeeze the water out of the potatoes, but found that was not a problem. The potatoes were perfect. I think next time, I might try making them with a bit of a kick by adding some hot sauce, jalapeno peppers, or chili powder. This was an easy recipe to make, and except for cooking time it didn't take that long to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
This is good stuff. Unfortunately, I had to substitute onion powder for the onion on account of a picky hubby, but it was still good. I found it needed a little longer than the time called for. I fit it into a loaf pan, really packing it in, but maybe next time I will divide it between 2 loaf pans (that way I can add the onion to mine!) The leftovers are great fried or cold and picky hubby has asked me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
I love this recipe. I added a little sour cream to the mix. We use this as our morning hashbrowns as well. Make them up the day before and heat them in the morning, they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I plan to make this again and again and again. I baked it in a 9x13 pan for the exact time and temp suggested. It turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States