Cheesy Potato Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
This is good stuff. Unfortunately, I had to substitute onion powder for the onion on account of a picky hubby, but it was still good. I found it needed a little longer than the time called for. I fit it into a loaf pan, really packing it in, but maybe next time I will divide it between 2 loaf pans (that way I can add the onion to mine!) The leftovers are great fried or cold and picky hubby has asked me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I make a potato casserole, but this was easier because you don't have to cook the potatoes first. I also used the food processor for the potatoes, onion, and cheese, and it came out great. My husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
My 13 month old daughter and I really enjoyed this recipe. My husband did not like it stating it tasted too much like onions (he hates onions). I halved the recipe as I was only cooking for three. Also a food processor is a must. It only took me 10 minutes to prepare this. I did everything in the processor, shredding cheese and potatoes and chopping the onion. Also I only cooked for 60 minutes and the casserole was crisp and done. I had to cover with foil the last 15 minutes and it still burned a little on the sides. I will start with the foil if I make it again. This may be due to the larger pan I used (9x11.5). If you add more cheese I think these would taste just like the potatoes at Cracker Barrel. I also added about a teaspoon of dried mustard for extra flavor. I probably won't make again for home, but may take to a pot luck as I really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
very nice. I cut the recipe in half and baked in the pan. Used my food processor to shred the potatoes, much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
kids didn't enjoy it at all. Not worth the trouble
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
This is awesome! My boyfriend is Jewish and I make this when he's homesick for traditional food. Even the first time I made it, he said it's as good as any kugel he's ever had, and asks me to make it all the time! I made it for Easter dinner and my Mom and brother loved it too, it was gone right away and now she wants to make it. My only complaint is how long it takes to make- shredding 3 lbs of potatoes is hard work! I wonder if frozen hash browns would be okay in it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
This did not turn out very well. 3 pounds of potatoes was way too much to fit into the 9x5 loaf pan. It tasted as if the potatoes were going bad the day after I made it and I had to throw it all in the garbage. Maybe it would be better in a 9x9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
My husband and I really liked this. I used dehydrated onions, I was out of the fresh, and I added some garlic powder and dried parsley. I baked in a 13X9 in. pan. Very tasty. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMS121

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
Icook in a hotel and this was a killer!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
Well it wasn't bad, but wasn't *wonderful* either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States