Cheesy Potato Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I make this recipe all the time. To save on time for the potatoes, I use the pre packaged hash browns that are in the refrigerated section. They are fresh and to date no one has even noticed the difference. I have, it saved me tons of time! Other than that this recipe is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Coconut Creek, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
My husband raved about this dish. I did not add any oil but to encourage browning, 'painted' the potatoes with olive oil twice during cooking process. Excellent result, crispy top covering almost fondant potatoes. Will be making this again when my family visit for Christmas. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
We didn't really enjoy this. There is nothing wrong with the actual recipe. The potatoes were lovely golden brown & crisp. The flavour just didn't appeal to us. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
My family and guests thought this recipe was delicious. Many comments about how good it was, including a good review from my picky son-in-law. I grated the potatoes and cheese in my food processor, which saved some time, although certainly handgrating would not be a problem. Instead of cooking in a loaf pan, I did as others suggested and used a 9 x 13 inch pan. I found they browned just fine without having to raise the temperature to do so. I also found they were done in about 45 minutes instead of 1 hour. I forgot to squeeze the water out of the potatoes, but found that was not a problem. The potatoes were perfect. I think next time, I might try making them with a bit of a kick by adding some hot sauce, jalapeno peppers, or chili powder. This was an easy recipe to make, and except for cooking time it didn't take that long to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I absolutley love this dish. I've made it a few times and it just seems like it gets better and better. I tried making it with hash browns instead. You know how long it takes to shred 3 lbs of potatoes? Expanding? Not an option. It just doesn't taste the same. Something in the hash browns. Very good though. To make mixing a little easier, I put all my ingredients in a bowl with a lid and shook it like crazy. Mixed so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Ok, but next time I'm going to try Pepperjack or smoked Gouda cheese. Really like how crispy this gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
This was really good, nice and oniony. Also really easy to make since I used the bags of already grated potatos you can find in the meat section of the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
FYI: For those of you concerned with the potatoes turning brown, add water to the bowl of your food processor before grating. Just grate directly into the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
This recipe was easy to make with the food processor. I recommend you shred (not too finely) the potatoes last since they quickly discolor when exposed to the air. This dish baked nicely, although the baking time could be increased perhaps by 15 minutes prior to increasing the heat (depending on coarseness of the potatoes). It was very tasty and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
This potato loaf is wonderful for breakfast. Just slice off the number of pieces you need and fry or broil. YUM! I did cut the olive oil in half because it seemed a little greasy the first time I made this. Also, for more flavor I added garlic powder and a touch more salt. Thanks Mindy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States