Cheesy Potato Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is far from Kugel. This is more of a potato pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I plan to make this again and again and again. I baked it in a 9x13 pan for the exact time and temp suggested. It turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Very Good, I add Sausage & Bacon. if you add the meat don't add oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Photo by Desert Moon
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
We prepared it for dinner tonight and it was loved by all! I baked it in 2 casserole dishes rather than a loaf pan this time but I will do the loaf pan next time for more moist finish. The onion & cheese added a lot to the flavor. We really enjoyed it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Moon

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
this recipe was awful, i think that the potatoes should have been cooked, cooled and then shredded. my potatoes were still hard. I also think there were too many eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is a really delicious dish, and it's pretty easy to make. I use my food processor for the potatoes, onions, and cheese, so that cuts down the prep time significantly. I cut the oil in half because it's a bit greasy as is, and I cut the onion in half because my husband doesn't like a lot of onions. It still has the onion flavor, but just not as strong. This definitely makes too much to fit into a 9 x 5 loaf pan, so I use a loaf pan and a round casserole when I make the full recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This recipe was very easy and good...but I sauteed the onions first..as my husband doesn't like them either. To me the potatoes really need the onions...but when cooked first...the flavor is very different. I use this method for potato pancakes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was great. The food processor speeds things up, but peeling takes a long time too. I might try leaving the peal on next time. I used low fat cheddar, less oil (2 Tbsp), and only two eggs (because I didn't have any more) and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I halved the recipe, used frozen shredded hash browns, and used salt free Spike rather than salt, but otherwise kept to the recipe. Good taste, but next time I think I'll do more to spice it up a bit. Looking forward to some leftovers tomorrow for breakfast...! Thanks for a good potato side-dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Delicious! I definitely will make this again. I made it for my boyfriend and friends, who have had very little exposure to traditional Jewish dishes. They loved it! Like other reviewers, I recommend the use of a food processor to shred all the ingredients. Also, I'd use a folded piece of cheesecloth or a very clean baker's towel to squeeze the water out of the potatoes, its easier than using a colander. The flavor and consistency of the kugel was perfect, especially with a dollop of sour cream. Many Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MllePandora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States