Cheesy Potato Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This is always a big hit, and very adaptable. I always sprinkle some dill on the layers. Sometimes it curdles, so cook it on a lower temp, cover for a bit, then remove the foil, increase the temp to brown the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I've made this recipe 8 times now including every Thanksgiving for the past 4 years. It is extremely simple and always a hit with several people asking for the recipe after eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Love this recipe. Have made it several times, but I actually use a different cheese everytime. I used a chipotle white vermont cheddar which gave it a nice southwestern flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Loved this recipe. Much better than I expected. I did use more potatoes than it called for so I didn't experience the "oilyness" that some mentioned. I will be making this recipe again tonight, but I don't have enough heavy cream so I am trying 1 cup condensed milk instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHONEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I'm not sure what I was expecting.. but this wasn't it... but my guests said it was good, so either my taste buds were off or they were just being polite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAYE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This was the BEST!!! I followed the recipe with the exception of using the chicken bullion. I would not omit that next time (I just didn't have it on hand), as it needed the salt. But this will become a holiday staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
Great recipe. Everyone loves it. Terrific for the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Pomponio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
I agree with the others that this is oily, very oily. I even added a little more potatoes. It's very "heavy" on the stomach. Good taste, but we felt like we gained five pounds! Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
I have made this recipe so many times now that I don't have to refer to the recipe anymore! I feed a family of 6, including 4 teenagers, and I always use a 5-lb bag of yukon gold potatoes, 16 oz of havarti and keep the cream at 3 cups. This is now our traditional Christmas dinner potato dish. I have also made this with havarti w/ dill to serve with the broiled talapia parmasean (this site) and it goes wonderful with the fish. I've also made it with an addition of garlic and rosemary to serve with lamb - fabulous! I've made this with various combinations of cream, half & half, milk, etc. and it always comes out really well, but the cream is the BEST. The havarti is expensive so we only have it on special occasions, and leftovers (if there are any!) never last long. Everyone I've served this to has absolutely LOVED it. Don't serve it to guests unless you plan to have the recipe printed out and ready to give away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adair County, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Great recipe. Havarti cheese gives it a totally new taste from the usual scalloped potatoes. My husband loved it! This recipe is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States