Cheesy Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I halved this recipe. It turned out really good, but my kids wouldn't eat it (all they wanted were cookies, go figure). I like it and I will make it for myself again. A really nice comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I made a half recipe and my entire family loved it -- it was the first thing gone! I will be making this for all my holiday meals for sure! Thanks so much....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This was excellent… for the first few bites, and then it tasted too rich, but in a different way – if that makes any sense. We always rate our meals on a scale of 10, and it started out being an 8, and ended up being a 5/6. I think it might have been a little too much cream of mushroom, and not enough potato. It’s a matter of personal taste though; I’d recommend this for everyone to try because it’s a unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This is ALWAYS a hit! Excellent for everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamieq
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I had this at my recent Christmas get together where I had over 20 people. It was very successful as well as being very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I have made this several times, and it is always a hit. My family just requested it for Christmas dinner yet again. I do make a few changes, though: I use 2 pounds of hash browns instead of 1 (too liquidy with only 1), I cut out the onion, and I use corn flakes for the topping. I have tried both letting it sit overnight and just assembling and baking right away, and I actually think it tastes better if I bake it right after assembling if I stir it all together first. I should also note that with the extra potatoes, it does take longer to cook. I increase the temperature to 400 degrees and let it cook for an hour. But really, it is hard to mess this one up. It comes out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This has a rich delicious flavor, and was a great dish to accompany Easter ham. The only thing I would change is the amount of potatoes: definitely requires 2 pounds instead of one to avoid being soupy. The crunchy topping sets it off very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I made this for easter and loved it. Bacon would be a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This was pretty good. It definitly needs to sit overnight so all the flavors mixed together. I doubled the potatoes and only used two cans of cream of mushroom soup and a can of cream of chicken because that's all I had. It was awesome that way. Also, I think next time I won't add the onions, or if onions are needed, I will use onion powder. All in all, pretty good recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULY2501

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I gave this a four. I love this, but I try to lighten it up a bit, because as it is it's really unhealthy. I use light cheddar cheese, light sour cream, and 1/2 the butter called for here, and it's still every bit as good as the original. I also use cream of chicken soup instead of cream of mushroom, which to me tastes a lot better, and I skip the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States