Cheesy Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I really liked this recipe but I didn't have any potatoes. So, I thawed a roast and cooked it in the crockpot. My son has a dairy allergy so I can't use cheese. I substistuted tortillas instead. No soup on hand, so I grabbed lettuce, tomatoes, onion. The tacos were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I'm not sure if everyone noticed but this recipe is meant to be assembled ahead of time and refridgerated for 24 hours. If you are making & preparing in the same day, you probably won't need as much "soup". I found that if I cut back on the amount of sour cream a little or else add 1 can of soup, 1 pint of sour cream and 1/4 cup of half/half to prepare in the same day it works out great! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I made this for a birthday brunch we had recently. The things I changed: I used a 32 oz bag of hash browns and used corn flake crumbs instead of crispy rice cereal and I used one can cream of chicken soup and one can cream of mushroom and chicken soup (because my family is not fond of mushrooms.) I also sprinkled the chopped onion over the hashbrowns instead of mixing them with the soup, to be sure they wouldn't end up crunchy. I made this the day ahead and stored it in the fridge. I sprinkled the topping on the day I made it, to make sure it wouldn't get soggy sitting overnight on top of the soup mixture. This was the first cheesy potato recipe I have made where you didn't just mix everything together (except the topping.) I thought it was still a little gooey on top when I first scooped it, but the flavor was really good. I saw several people go back for seconds. It was even better when I reheated the leftovers the next day. Next time I may try mixing everything together and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I used potatoes o'brien instead. I also messed up and accidentally used 8oz of cream cheese. I used the advice of the last reviewer on all the ingredient amounts. They turned out fabulous, huge hit with my whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Awesome recipe! Great comfort food - both the kids & adults loved it and it's "fool proof".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New Glarus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
So glad I found this recipe. I had misplaced this recipe that my aunt had given me 5 years ago! I make a few changes to lower the fat: reduced fat chicken soup, reduced fat sour cream, and reduced fat cheddar cheese. I also cut down on the butter over the cereal mixture (and use Corn Flakes). It's also nice to saute the onions in olive oil first so they're not 'crunchy'. I like this recipe because it's easy to cut in 1/2 for our small family or double for larger celebrations--it's a must for Easter and Christmas in our extended family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
We love this recipe. I use a whole bag of Oreida hash browns, 1 can of cream of chicken & 1 of cream of celery for the soup, some onion powder instead of the onion and corm flakes instead of rice chex. I always have to cook it longer too...about 1-1/4 hours. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thiensville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
We love this recipe. I altered it a bit by using Saltines in place of the rice crispies and I ommit the sour cream and onion and add 8oz of french onion dip. I also doubled the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee:o)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I've made this recipe tons of times and I have started to change things a bit on it. It's always a hit no matter what. These are the ingredients I have changed: 2 bags of "Simply Potatoes" shredded hashbrowns, 2 cans of cream of chicken (cream of celery is good too), and rice krispies for the top (it seems to be crunchier) Also, I used "Smart Balance" instead of butter and I use whatever cheese I have in the house. It's a really versatile recipe that can be changed to what suits everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I really like this recipe! I like to saute the onions before putting them in here because some of my family doesn't really like the crunch of onions...it's a good way to keep the flavor without being over-powering. Also, I use cream of chicken instead of cream of mushroom, and corn flakes instead of crispy rice squares. It's not that it isn't good the other way...I haven't tried it exactly as the recipe calls. I think this is great bones for the recipe we're looking for! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States