Cheesy Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Very Good! I did take the advice of others and added about a half pound more of hash browns. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I made this for Easter. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Great Recipe with a few mod's, used 2lbs of square southern style frozen hashbrowns. used both cans of soup, sauted the onion litely just so it woud not be crunchy in the dish. used 3 cups chedder. Also make sure you mix the potatos with the cheese mixture instead of just pouring it on top. I also Used Ritz crackers for topping, no butter. I also let the dish sit over night in the fridge and cooked the next day for dinner. Worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I used 1 can of Ceam of Mushroom and 1 can of Cream of Chicken as other had recommended. I thawed the hash browns then mixed everything together instead of layering. This also took up less space instaed of letting it rest in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
my mom started making this a couple of months ago and has tweaked it little each time. As everyone else has said less soup and/or more potatoes are recommended. The biggest change came about as an accident. She ran out of cornflakes for the topping and used frosted flakes instead. This change does greatly alter the taste of the dish as a whole but its the only way i eat it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This recipe is so delicous and I LOVE LOVE LOVE it but I have to double the potatoes - I can't imagine how soupy it would be without. (hence the 3 stars)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I made this exactly as written and 2 cans of soup was WAY too much for only 1 lb of hash browns. It came out much too soupy and rich. You could barely even tell there were potatoes in it (I used shredded hash brown potatoes.) I also didn't care for the cereal topping at all. I made it a second time and made these modifications: 1 whole bag frozen hash browns (I believe it was a 28 or 30 oz bag, so it is more like almost 2 lbs.) and only 1 can of soup. I also used an entire "sleeve" of saltine crackers crushed instead of the cereal the recipe calls for. I liked the cracker topping better, but I think I will skip the topping entirely next time. The potatoes are better as left overs without the crunchy topping (which gets soggy when you reheat it.) With these modifications, this is my go-to cheesy potato recipe. But I couldn't justify giving the recipe 5 stars as written since the proportions were so WAY off in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I really liked this recipe but I didn't have any potatoes. So, I thawed a roast and cooked it in the crockpot. My son has a dairy allergy so I can't use cheese. I substistuted tortillas instead. No soup on hand, so I grabbed lettuce, tomatoes, onion. The tacos were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I'm not sure if everyone noticed but this recipe is meant to be assembled ahead of time and refridgerated for 24 hours. If you are making & preparing in the same day, you probably won't need as much "soup". I found that if I cut back on the amount of sour cream a little or else add 1 can of soup, 1 pint of sour cream and 1/4 cup of half/half to prepare in the same day it works out great! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I made this for a birthday brunch we had recently. The things I changed: I used a 32 oz bag of hash browns and used corn flake crumbs instead of crispy rice cereal and I used one can cream of chicken soup and one can cream of mushroom and chicken soup (because my family is not fond of mushrooms.) I also sprinkled the chopped onion over the hashbrowns instead of mixing them with the soup, to be sure they wouldn't end up crunchy. I made this the day ahead and stored it in the fridge. I sprinkled the topping on the day I made it, to make sure it wouldn't get soggy sitting overnight on top of the soup mixture. This was the first cheesy potato recipe I have made where you didn't just mix everything together (except the topping.) I thought it was still a little gooey on top when I first scooped it, but the flavor was really good. I saw several people go back for seconds. It was even better when I reheated the leftovers the next day. Next time I may try mixing everything together and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States