Cheesy Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Absolutely wonderful potatoes!! I did make a few minor changes though. I never actually have mayo - I only have Miracle Whip Light in the fridge so that's what I used. And taking the advice from some others, I used 1 cup of Miracle Whip Light and 1 cup of light sour cream. I also used Lite Velveeta Cheese & the potatoes still tasted very rich and yummy even using all light ingredients. I stirred the bacon bits in with everything else instead of putting them on top & added some dried chives instead of the chopped onion. I combined some crushed cornflakes and melted butter and sprinkled it on top before baking. For some reason, my kids will eat anything with a crunchy topping! I did bake the dish covered for the first half hour so the cornflakes didn't get too brown. Everyone loved this dish. In fact the kids like to call it Potato Skin Casserole because they said it tastes just like potato skins - but so much easier for me to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
These potatoes are okay, but I would recommend the Hash Brown Casserole by Diane also off this site. I like it much better. I used half mayo and half sour cream. The potatoes were heavy, but not greasy. I also used fresh bacon rather than bacon bits. It wasn't bad, but I will go back to my usual recipe. I think it is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This recipe was not only yummy, but very easy to make. I made this for a father's day cookout and it was a hit. I would recommend a few changes: instead of the bottled bacon bits, cook up about 12 pieces of bacon and cut them up in small pieces. Also, I used 1 cup each of mayonnaise / sour cream and 3/4 brick of Velveeta rather than 1lb. One other suggestions, use the southern style hash browns rather than the shredded. It makes mixing a lot easier. Try this recipe with these few changes and you won't be sorry!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
Not at all healthy or elegant--just a really yummy, cheese-y potato casserole. I've tried several variations on the potato casserole theme (usually they call for canned soup and I just don't like the flavor it imparts)--this is by far the best I've tried. I cut this in half for our family of four--it worked beautifully. I baked it in a 1.5 quart round casserole and baked for approx. 35 mins. I'd highly recommend giving this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I try to lighten the recipe up a little bit by using 1 cup of light mayo and 1 cup of light sour cream instead of 2 cups regular mayo. I also like to saute the onion with some garlic before adding it to the potatoes. This recipe is killer !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canoga Park, California, USA
Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
I have made this recipe for several years both in the oven and in the crockpot. It is always a big hit at our annual Superbowl parties. The only difference is that I use the O'Brien style hashbrowns w/the peppers and onions already in them and all sour cream, no mayo. I'll have to try the mayo version sometime, though. It's also great if you add leftover cooked chicken or ham. Makes an easy casserole dinner & the kids always love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
One of my son's favorite dishes...but only when I brown the potatoes and onions first, add pepper, and use l/2 mayo and l/2 sour cream. The browning gives it more flavor and also cuts down on baking time. Use real (soft) bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
Quite delicious and a versatile side-dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
I made this for my family Easter gathering. This recipe was GREAT. It was super easy to put together. I assembled it and put it in the refrigerator until I was ready to pop it in the oven. I told everyone to rate the potatoes with 5 stars being the best. Everyone, I mean everyone gave it 5 stars! My mother-in-law took the recipe home with her. Out of 10 people we almost ate the whole casserole. One thing I did do, was what another reviewer suggested. I substituted 1 cup lite sour cream and used 1 cup lite mayo. I also used lite velveeta and didn't used all of the bacon bits it called for. It's a keeper!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Very easy and tatsy! Got several compliments and had requests to keep the leftovers. Used 1/2 mayo and 1/2 sour cream. Mixed 1/2 bacon bits in with potatoes. Remaining bacon on top. Added a little shredded cheddar on top last few minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States