Cheesy Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I think it a crowd pleaser if you like bland food-very boring in taste. I won't make it again but I would offer the suggestion of using onion that is sauteed first, using sharp cheddar or pepperjack cheese and adding perhaps some diced green chile's to give it a little extra somethin-somethin. But if you like your flavors plain-this is for you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Placentia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
An absolute crowd pleaser! I get more compliments from this recipe! Thanks for posting it! Also to spice it up sometimes I add the southwest style hashbrowns!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This was SO GREASY. And to me, the flavor was just lacking. Will definitely NOT make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Awesome. Tasted great. I've had many variations of this kind of recipe, but this was quick, easy, and requested again. I did follow some recommendation given by others... I did add about 1/4 cup of sour cream to the mixture, and I also added some of the bacon bits to the center. It turned out really well, and couldn't have been easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Variation that received rave reviews: Sautee 1 chopped onion in 3/4 stick butter in saucepan. On low heat add 8oz cream cheese, 1.5 cup milk, 10oz ex shp white ched cheese, 1/2 cup parm, 1/2 tsp each of crushed red pepper, pepper, salt, garlic powd. 1 TBS parsley, 1/4 tsp thyme. Slowly melt and stir into one 20oz bag seasoned hash browns in 6x9 casserole dish. Bake @ 375 for 35-40 min. Remove and top with 1/2 sleeve crushed saltines mixed w/ 3 TBS melted butter. Place back in oven and cook until topping is golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
My family loved this. I added a little garlic salt and parsley. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Kinda bland as written - in my opinion. I made again last night with some modifications. I had a 16 oz jar of 4 Cheese Salsa Con Queso that I have been wanting to do something with for a while now, so I used that in place of the processed cheese & added enough to taste of salt and pepper. I also crumbed up fresh fried bacon instead of using bacon bits - and it turned out so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
this was so good! i took it to a bbq and it was all gone very quickly! i took other's advice and took out some of the mayo (actually used miracle whip) and added sour cream. i used the diced potatoes and real bacon. i sauteed the onion in the bacon pan with a few cloves of garlic as well. i also added in some diced roasted red pepper. mmm! so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
yum! i had this recipe before but lost it...so glad i found it!! i love to make this for a brunch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
best comfort food ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States