Cheesy Pork Chops with Spicy Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
I approached this recipe with cautious optomism because it sounded a little odd. It was actually very good! I did not have red pepper flakes so I left those out and didn't miss them. This may be obvious, but you need to grill these on lightly greased foil or the apples and onions will fall through the grill. You don't want to miss any of them because they are a perfect compliment to the pork chops! Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
We made this in a pan, adding a little chili pepper to the chops to spice it up. Then we cooked the apples and cheese in the drippings after removing the chops. My husband loved it! Especially with the wonderful autumn apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
Excellent! I used extra thick-cut chops, browning the meat for 5 min. on each side in a non-stick pan. Then, I simmered the chops in 2/3 c. dry sherry until done. To finish, I put the apple mixture and cheese on the chops under the broiler until the cheese melted. The pork was sooo tender. The only thing I will change the next time I make this-and there will definitely be a next time-is to double the apple mixture. This recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
YUM!!! I left out the pepper flakes(maybe next time). After I grilled the chops, I brought them inside on a cookie sheet and put the apple mixture/cheese on the chops. I popped them in the oven for a few minutes to melt the cheese. Less mess than trying to top them on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
very easy to make and a nice blend of flavors. Leftover didn't taste too good the second day though, so shouldn't make more than you can finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I found it very greasy. If I make it again, I would reduce the butter. I would recommend making irish cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Caledon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This recipe is perfect. Instead of red pepper I used creole seasoning and added some minced garlic. My friends say it's like an apple pie entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
We just decided to spice up our meals and this dish is great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This is a recipe that I will continue to make and will pass down to my children. We were a little hesitant but wanted to try something new. Everything blended together perfectly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Liberty Township, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
These were really yummy! Sound odd, but taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States