Cheesy Pork Chops with Spicy Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This was very good. I was unsure if this recipe would suit us or not because it is out of our normal "comfort zone". I don't normally mix fruit and meat and have never had cheese and apples together. However, this turned out to be delicious and I will be making it again in the future. The only thing I did differently is I omitted the onions because neither of us like them. I did substitute a small amount of onion powder instead to try to keep with the actual recipe flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
My favorite way to eat pork chops. I love the apple, onion, and cheddar combination. When I made them the first time, I had way more apple/onion mixture that I prefer. Maybe my apple and onion were too big? I'd cut down on the toppings or throw in an extra chop. Oh, and the red pepper flakes are vital!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
My husband and I both enjoyed these pork chops. A year ago he swore off pork, so because of this recipe, I can enjoy pork again. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
YUm. My husband was in charge of dinner. He typed in 5 ingredients we had on hand and this was the recipe that caught his tastebuds. Instead of porkchops , he sliced up a pork tendlerloin we had in the freezer. Cooked in our grillpan and put everything in a piece of stoneware to melt the cheese on top. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I think this would've been better as a skillet meal, cutting the pork and adding it to the vinegar sauce. I thought the pork was bland, but the apples were great. Next time I'll try it the skillet way, adding shredded cheddar at the the end and serving over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I just made this for my 17 year old son and his friend and they bothed loved it. My son doesn't really like pork but he like this alot. And his friend wants me to give it to his mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was pretty good. The apples were delish. I put meat tenderizer, pepper, thyme on my chops earlier in the day. I panfried them and assembled them in a casserole and put in the oven to melt the cheese. Followed the ingredents to a tee.Very nice. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
VERY intersting mesh of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
We all really liked this. I thought the flavor combinations were really exciting. The apples and cheese are a nice balance. Next time, more onion. I did adjust the recipe to cook on the stove due to the weather. Here's what I did: Cooked the onions first, then added then added the apples and cooked uncovered for about 5 minutes. Removed the onions/apples from the pan and added the pork chops. Browned well on each side, then covered and simmered for about 10 minutes in some white wine vinegar and more balsamic vinegar. Once the pork chops were almost done, I added the apple mixture back into the pan, topped with the cheese, and covered again until the cheese melted. Served with sweet potato fries and green beans. A really nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
These were awesome! I sprinkled the chops with some Memphis Dry Rub,(from this site) minus the MSG, but followed the rest of the instructions. I also added some shredded cabbage to onions and apples. What a wonderful change from my basic pork chops and rice with gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States