Cheesy Pork Chop Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
I read many of the reviews for this recipe and I took the comments that others made into consideration. Many said that their complaint was the potatoes still being a little too hard and undercooked. I decided to use a package of frozen hash browns instead. The recipe turned out wonderful. It was delicious!! I will make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
This recipe went over well with my family. My husband really enjoyed it. I couldn't find any cheddar cheese soup at my grocery store so I used a can of cream of mushroom in it's place. I also took the advice of another reviewer and added a can of cream of celery soup as well. I used small "new potatoes". I microwaved them for a few minutes (5 minutes for 14 small potatoes) before I cut them up. I used bite-sized potato chunks rather than slices and it worked out well. I don't know if I would use the cheese next time as I didn't really notice the cheese in the sauce at all. Maybe because I used 3 cans of soup (onion, mushroom and celery) that the chesse wasn't as noticable. Great recipe. Easy to assemble and to clean up afterwards. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
It was really good. But as many have said, the potatoes don't get cooked all the way (I even sliced em real thin). One thing you can do to alleviate this is stick the potatoes in the microwave for 1-2 minutes prior to peeling/slicing, and thus cook them a bit this way. I also used 1 can each of French Onion, Cream of Celery, and Cheddar, which makes it a little more saucier and keeps the meat covered well. And it is very good with biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I changed things up quite a bit i sliced my potatoes almost paper thin and cubed my porkchops. Instead of a can of onion soup i used cream of mushroom and added 3/4 of a can of milk to soup mix. i layered potatoes, then soup mix, then pork chop repeated until i finished with a final layer of potatoes then soup mix baked according to temps and times then sprinkled with fine cheddar cheese. another great tip is to use just a little bit of cooking spray on the pan. My family loved this and there was nothing to save for leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joelsbaby87

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillespie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I have been making this recipe for many years in the crock pot! Spray the crock first, layer potatoes, diced onion, salt and pepper, soup( I have used all sorts of creamed soups, prefer celery or asparagus) cheese then pork chops. Then another layer of potatoes,onion,salt and pepper, ending with cheese. Cook on LOW for about five or six hours. It's really simple and yummy. We are only two , but adjust cooking time to size of portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Loved all the suggestions, I also used shredded hash browns on the bottom, leftover pork tenderloin meat, then put Golden Mushroom soup on top, baked for 30 min, added Pepper Jack Velveeta cheese with dried Fried Onions on top and baked again for another 5-10 min uncovered.. YUMMY.. my kids added barbeque sauce to it on their plate, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This was actually really good! My husband says that all I ever make is chicken, so I have been trying to branch out. I was very happy with this recipe and my husband loved it. Will be making it again soon. I used hash browns that I had in the freezer which made the recipe really easy and the potatoes cooked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Two stars because there's nothing technically wrong with the recipe. It cooked as promised. No stars for taste and I should have known better. I keep trying these "easy" meals that use soup for flavor and keep not liking the bland, salty results. Know your preferences before trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ModernSteph
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is a super easy recipe! I did a can of cream of celery, a can of french onion and a can of the cheddar cheese soup. I also cooked the potatoes for 5 minutes each and then sliced them up. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by g5club

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chuluota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I took into account other reviews so I: 1. peeled 2 large potatoes and boiled them whole for 8 minutes. 2. Used the mandolin to get VERY thin slices on the potatoes and also sliced an onion. 3. I baked for about 75 minutes and never touched it. The potatoes were still not done. I took out the pork, put the oven to 450 and let the potatoes back in for about another 30 minutes! For the trouble and end result, I will not be making this again. The pork chops would have been better pan fried with mashed potatoes! Live and learn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States