Cheesy Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Fantastic! My store was out of polenta so I used corn meal. I also added extra cheese. Not sure why but mine was finished cooking after 3-5 minutes even on low. I poured it into a small bowl, let it firm, then when I turned it out onto a plate it kept a nice round shape and was easy to slice rather than scoop. A crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Really good! I've never made polenta before and this was so easy. I garnished the top with some extra cheddar, and it was super yummy. In the future, I think I'll put a bunch of cheddar on top...it kind of melts into the top of the polenta. My 11 month old babies loved this, as did my husband. A real crowd pleaser! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I have been looking for a polenta like this, it was FAR OUT! Really creamy and delicious.... although I did modify this a little bit. Instead of cheddar I used shredded parmesan and next time, I will use a courser grain corn meal (or use what's called "polenta" which is even courser ground) and mix it while the water is cold so that it doesn't clump as much. Also, I used the chicken broth as another reviewer mentioned, since it gives it a richer flavor. I think I will also try adding a little bit of sage to make it herbed polenta. Great side dish with cumin & oregano seasoned porkchops and braised kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Absolutely one of my favorites. I love cheese and add extra most of the time. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I changed the recipe a bit and it turned out great. I cut the milk in half and replaced it with heavy cream, and then instead of 4oz of cheddar I split that up between asiago and parmesan cheeses. I did add a bit more polenta so it would firm up so I could grill it. The grill gave it a great extra flavor boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupalicious

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was my first attempt at Polenta and it turned out great! Perfectly seasoned and the cheese was a yummy addition. I poured it into a loaf pan lined with plastic wrap to set up. I sliced it into 1/2 inch slices and lightly breaded it and fried it in olive oil and topped with a vegetarian chili -- SO good! Definitely a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Photo by Leila
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Sooo quick and easy (and cheap!). It was ready 5 minutes after I incorporated the cornmeal. I left out the butter and added a tsp Creole Seasoning. We had this with Cornmeal-Crusted Catfish. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Sooo good. I doubled the recipe and there was so much extra. But I ate it for days... breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I didn't mind. (I also added a little extra cheese.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Loved this recipe. Use Gorgonzola cheese instead of cheddar after getting a recommendation from the Italian grocer. I also added mushroom broth and a few chinese mushrooms - tasted fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Made this for my husband for Valentine's Day with the Basis Ceasar Salmon recipe on the site, along with asparagus and Jamie's Cranberry Spinach Salad (also from allrecipes) Wonderful! Like another reviewer, I too found that it cooked quickly and was done within a few minutes but added a bit more milk and still came out creamy and yummy! My husband raved about it...will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States