Cheesy Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I agree with using shaved or grated parm in place of cheddar. Also, I put the cornmeal into cold liquid, whisking as I do and then I bring it to the boil, then simmer. Otherwise, I always get lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Wonderful! Another use for Polenta is to pour it onto a pan while warm and let it set up in a thin sheet. When cool, slice up into small squares or strips for use in casseroles. Endless possibilities... A favorite is ground beef and taco seasoning, layered with cheese and sour cream/plain yogurt. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I have been looking for a polenta like this, it was FAR OUT! Really creamy and delicious.... although I did modify this a little bit. Instead of cheddar I used shredded parmesan and next time, I will use a courser grain corn meal (or use what's called "polenta" which is even courser ground) and mix it while the water is cold so that it doesn't clump as much. Also, I used the chicken broth as another reviewer mentioned, since it gives it a richer flavor. I think I will also try adding a little bit of sage to make it herbed polenta. Great side dish with cumin & oregano seasoned porkchops and braised kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I changed the recipe a bit and it turned out great. I cut the milk in half and replaced it with heavy cream, and then instead of 4oz of cheddar I split that up between asiago and parmesan cheeses. I did add a bit more polenta so it would firm up so I could grill it. The grill gave it a great extra flavor boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupalicious

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
WOW. I had no idea what to expect, since I never have had polenta before, but WOW. It's like mashed potatoes, only with corn. Absolutely delicious. Wouldn't change a thing. What a great side dish to serve with anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I substituted chicken broth for the water, as suggested, and added about a quarter cup of Parmesan cheese along with the cheddar. It was very good, but next time I'll use less salt. Good basic recipe. Very rich and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMIK124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Polenta made with cheddar and milk is not the traditional polenta I grew up with but this was a delicious variation, particularly for more Classic American entrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Loved it - a nice side dish change from mashed potatoes. Used chicken stock instead of water as others suggested and used skim milk since that is the only kind we drink. Also substituted parm. cheese for the cheddar. Added corn meal to liquid then boiled - cooked much faster this way! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
The flavor reminds me of 'home'. We like ours very creamy, so I used chicken broth (organic-otherwise it's a container of chicken tinged salt water) and lots of it- also almond milk (it's what we use) and parm, black pepper, no salt needed. It sets up fast, keep stirring. I added a hunk of butter. Just keep adding liquid until it looks right. It makes a ton-be prepared to have fun with leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Pretty good recipe, but substituting chicken stock for the water is the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States