Cheesy Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was good but was a little lacking. I added a lot of milk after it finished cooking because it wasn't creamy like I had hoped. And even though I used sharp cheddar, there wasn't a whole lot of flavor, so I added a good pinch of garlic powder. It's a good base recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
The beauty of this recipe is its versatility. I've been making this for a long time. Adding 3 tbsp. or more of chopped scallions to the water/broth is nice. I've used a shredded four-cheese blend with lots of success. I even serve this for breakfast! Spreading the mixture in a cookie sheet to cool and then cutting into triangles or squares is a great way to use extra polenta. Lightly fry the triangles in a bit of butter or olive oil and you have a nice, new side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Free fall chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I have been making this recipe since I found it on this website 4 years ago! It is fantastic, and very simpe, yet makes an elegant presentation. I use half chicken broth and half milk, but I add the seasonings and 2 cloves of minced garlic to the liquids before heating, to infuse the flavors even stronger. I always double the recipe, or triple it, and never have leftovers. It is beautiful with Coq Au Vin, as the polenta soaks up all those wonderful juices from the chicken simmering away in wine for hours. For those who did not care for it when they tried it, I implore you to try again. It is a main staple on my entertaining menu. It gets rave reviews each time I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ogilvie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
The jury is really out on this one. I followed the recipe, yet it turned into a gluey mess with in minutes of adding the corn meal...I'm not sure what went wrong? So, though it was a very unappetizing consistency, it tasted....ok. It's kind of like a blank slate; it tastes like butter & cheese & grain? It's worth giving a shot and I may try again to see if I can determine what went wrong and try to get a result like the yummy looking photo attached to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I'm not sure what to rate this because i've never had polenta before. I also added 4 oz of cream cheese instead of cheddar, because i'd seen a recipe on tv that used cream cheese instead of cheddar and it looked better. Also used chicken broth for the 2 cups of water. The consistency was smooth, but i didn't like it, and i'm not a picky eater at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I used a mix of mozzarella and Parmesan, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy E.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I must have done something wrong, but I followed the directions and the ingredients to a tee, and my mixture was very watery when I was finished. I must have done something wrong, but this did not work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I also substitute chicken broth for the water. I added half sharp cheddar and parmesan cheese. I noticed that with the chicken broth which generally has salt in in and the cheddar cheese which can be salty, and I didn't catch that the butter I used was NOT unsalted, and the fact that with the kosher salt added, I thought the polenta was way too salty. Next time I will use unsalted butter and omit the kosher salt. I did add a pinch of sugar and I think that helps balance out the flavors. I had this with pork rolled up with capacola and a demi glaze sauce. Marvelous! I even used the leftover polenta for breakfast the next morning. Pancake syrup goes great with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This recipe cuts down to 2 servings without a problem. I gave it only 4 stars because of the changes I made. I too swapped the cheddar cheese for parm. I also changed the cooking process after reading the reviews. I heated the milk. I stirred the corn meal into the water before adding it to the milk to prevent lumps. With these changes, this was amazingly tasty and creamy polenta. Thanks to the previous reviews for the great advice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
very good. Didn't know if I'd like polenta or not but I was pleasantly surprized. Nice and creamy and cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States