Cheesy Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
So very good! I can't wait to make this again and and again.... I followed other's advice and mixed all the ingredients (except the butter and cheese) while they were cold, and then turned on the heat. Once it was thick I added the butter and cheese and stirred until melted. Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prairie Epicurian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was very good; however, I made the mistake of using cornmeal MIX which made it too salty. I will make it again and omit some of the kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Tasty with parm instead of cheddar, as everyone else has found. However, mine took longer to cook than 20 min - more like 35? I think the key is not to just turn the heat to low, but to turn it only low enough that it still bubbles a little without totally boiling. I'll try it that way next time and see if 25 min is a bit more accurate. Served with a faux "meat" and veggie (zukes, carrots, and peppers) sauce that I let simmer while I prepared the polenta. It's one of my fiance's favorite dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Great recipe. Only problem I had was that my polenta did not stay creamy...it was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I love this recipe, and have been using it for almost a year. I don't usually let the polenta simmer for 20 minutes...its usually more like 5 minutes. I stir like crazy up until I hit the point where I let it sit for 5 minutes, and it is cooked through and tastes good. I use whatever cheese it on hand, and it is delicious! This polenta combines well with the summer squash polenta recipe on here, or is great by itself. Store bought polenta has nothing on this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danielleincanada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
What a wonderful basic recipe. There is so much potential. I am Italian and I've always added the polenta to cold liquid to prevent lumps and please use polenta grade grain for this recipe, it does make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ourway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! I have made it twice now, first as the recipe is written and then the other time with a few changes of my own. I used stock instead of water and subbed out the Cheddar cheese for fresh Parmesan. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was good but was a little lacking. I added a lot of milk after it finished cooking because it wasn't creamy like I had hoped. And even though I used sharp cheddar, there wasn't a whole lot of flavor, so I added a good pinch of garlic powder. It's a good base recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
The beauty of this recipe is its versatility. I've been making this for a long time. Adding 3 tbsp. or more of chopped scallions to the water/broth is nice. I've used a shredded four-cheese blend with lots of success. I even serve this for breakfast! Spreading the mixture in a cookie sheet to cool and then cutting into triangles or squares is a great way to use extra polenta. Lightly fry the triangles in a bit of butter or olive oil and you have a nice, new side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Free fall chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I have been making this recipe since I found it on this website 4 years ago! It is fantastic, and very simpe, yet makes an elegant presentation. I use half chicken broth and half milk, but I add the seasonings and 2 cloves of minced garlic to the liquids before heating, to infuse the flavors even stronger. I always double the recipe, or triple it, and never have leftovers. It is beautiful with Coq Au Vin, as the polenta soaks up all those wonderful juices from the chicken simmering away in wine for hours. For those who did not care for it when they tried it, I implore you to try again. It is a main staple on my entertaining menu. It gets rave reviews each time I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ogilvie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States