Cheesy Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
So delicious! Never knew polenta could be so good. I used chicken broth and evaporated milk. Also used parmesan cheese. Served it with goat cheese, roasted veggies and balsamic glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I have not made this recipe, but I've made polenta often and it seems like it would work. Substituting water or chicken broth is my preference because I grew up not having a polenta that was so rich. Polenta has lots of possibilities: add cheese, cooked sausage or bacon, caramelized onions, a can of corn, whatever you like. Some people pour it out and let it set in a thin layer, then make a polenta lasagna. It's a great cold weather dish and a staple in the northern regions of Italy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
The whole family raved! my tweaks were: chicken broth instead of water. Used half milk and half heavy whipping cream, then omitted the butter( needed to use it up after the holidays) used a mix of cheddar and Parmesan. I salted to taste after rather than adding a proscribed amount. i might add chives to top next time just for color, but otherwise a total winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Enjoyed it. I think I need to add some garlic and use a different cheese to please the palettes in my family. I will use this as a base and change it up until I get it just right for my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I followed the recipe but made some changes as was suggested by some other reviewers. I swapped water for chicken stock and cheddar cheese for parm. This was my first taste of polenta and my boyfriend and I did not like it at all. I tried to like; I really wanted to like it, but I don't think the texture of polenta agreed with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was so creamy and tasty! My husband was a little reluctant to try it but he ate every bite and asked to have it again later in the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hessaire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This polenta is wonderful! It's like cheese grits on steroids! I used locally milled corn meal and a little more cheese (and a little Nature's Seasoning and a dash or two of garlic powder). The kids love it! I'll be sure to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cairo, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
My mother loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This was very good and a nice change from mashed potatoes. I did what most reviewers suggested of mixing cornmeal into cold milk and water and then heating. It cooked up quick and then I added the butter and cheese and added salt and pepper to taste. Best to serve immediatley because it does set up as it cools and won't be as creamy. For those who don't know what polenta is it is like cream of wheat in consistency. The taste is mild allowing the cheese flavor to come through and dominate but not overpower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
yummy! did this with zucchini! make sure you don't grill too long or it gets mushy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States