Cheesy Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This tasted so good with water that I can only imagine how great chicken broth will be for next time. I made the 4 serving version of this with skim milk. I put the polenta into cold liquid,then boil as suggested and did not have a single lump. Around 13 mins of cooking I had to bump the heat up to medium because it was not solidifying. I think I might cut down the butter next time, but the sharp cheddar cheese was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was my first time making and eating Polenta. The only thing I did different was using chicken stock in place of the water. I found it was a bit salty for me but I think it was due to me still adding the salt when I used stock. I really liked this found it was a nice replacement to the same old side dishes. Thanks for such an easy recipe..that I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I have made some version of cheesy polenta many times. This is probably the best and easiest. I went ahead and made the recipe exactly as instructed. I look forward to making other variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Very tasty! I put in a few leaves of fresh basil and may add a Tbl of parm or something similar but pretty decent overall. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreygan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Fantastic! I made modifications per other reviewers' suggestions and it turned out so very tasty. I used chicken broth instead of water, 3/4 cup half and half (all I had) and the rest (1 and 1/4 cup) light plain silk milk. Next time I will try with just the silk milk (lessen the fat content). I was tasting as I went and actually liked the flavor BEFORE adding the cheese better (I used parmesan, again.. all I had). I barely added any butter, as it tasted great already. I used to only buy the pre-made, squeezed-in-a-plastic-tubey-thing polenta. Never again!! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Very good and easy recipe! Used chicken broth instead of water and 2% milk. Otherwise made according to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Polenta made with cheddar and milk is not the traditional polenta I grew up with but this was a delicious variation, particularly for more Classic American entrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Used the parmesan and added the cornmeal to cold water exactly as others suggested. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I really liked how easy this polenta recipie was, no fuss and it turned out nice and creamy. I used this as a base for my meat loaf and it was an excellant sudstitute for mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dgoose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parshall, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Very yummy. I used chicken broth rather than water for added flavor and adjusted the salt accordingly. Then I used salted butter and parm cheese instead. It was a hit. I plan on trying this again with new flavor combination for the polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States