Cheesy Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I must have done something wrong. I noticed another reviewer had the same problem. I could not get mine to set up. I had to serve it in ramekins because it was so watery. Not sure what I did wrong but with the cost of the cheese and the polenta itself this side dish was not worth the money even if I could have got it to set up. The flavor was very blah even switching chicken stock for water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Wow. This was my first time making polenta, and it was so easy and so delicious that I cannot wait to make it again. The only changes that I made were to use 1% milk instead of whole, because it's what we had, and to add way more cheese, because I'm from Wisconsin and there is no such thing as too much cheese. I used a mix of Asiago, sharp cheddar and mild cheddar, and it was perfect. 10 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I used this with a hard goat cheese. I was going to skip the butter, but the flavor was harsh and it seemed really thick. I added 2 tbs of butter and that solved those problems. This is definitely a keeper. One thing is you have to constantly stir it. Mine cooked up in less than 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
chicken stock instead of water and parm/ asiago instead of cheddar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Used 1% milk (that's all I ever have in the house) and used vegetable stock instead of water for a little extra flavor. Otherwise, made as written. Served it with a baked ratatouille. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanerdc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Really creamy and good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I really wanted to like this but it had an odd after taste. I will look for a different polenta recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Delicious. I subbed fat-free half and half for the whole milk and used a combination of cheddar and aged gouda. I can imagine using up several cheese ends to make this, it's nice to vary and not have all one cheese, and some fresh herbs stirred in at the end might be nice too. This is a really good base recipe that you can adjust on a whim. We found that 2/3 to 3/4 cup of this recipe is enough as it is very filling. I served it with a grilled sausage and asparagus. The remainder is in a loaf pan chilling in the fridge for slicing and pan frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Like some of the other reviews, I found this to be OK, but not great. The consistency was a bit "gooey" for my taste. Maybe some bacon and green onion would make it more flavorful?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobbyV

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Very good! I like mine quite a bit thicker. This was almost soupy. Still, great flavor and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States