Cheesy Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Used 1% milk (that's all I ever have in the house) and used vegetable stock instead of water for a little extra flavor. Otherwise, made as written. Served it with a baked ratatouille. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanerdc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Really creamy and good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I really wanted to like this but it had an odd after taste. I will look for a different polenta recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Delicious. I subbed fat-free half and half for the whole milk and used a combination of cheddar and aged gouda. I can imagine using up several cheese ends to make this, it's nice to vary and not have all one cheese, and some fresh herbs stirred in at the end might be nice too. This is a really good base recipe that you can adjust on a whim. We found that 2/3 to 3/4 cup of this recipe is enough as it is very filling. I served it with a grilled sausage and asparagus. The remainder is in a loaf pan chilling in the fridge for slicing and pan frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Like some of the other reviews, I found this to be OK, but not great. The consistency was a bit "gooey" for my taste. Maybe some bacon and green onion would make it more flavorful?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobbyV

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Very good! I like mine quite a bit thicker. This was almost soupy. Still, great flavor and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Extremely easy to make and unbelievably tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Yum! First time to make. I followed various ideas you all have posted! I used 1 cup whole milk with 1 cup heavy cream, 2 cups chicken broth instead of water. I sautéed onions an pancetta, then added liquids. I then used 1/2 a tube of polenta an 1/4 cup yellow corn meal. I then simmered it with fresh sage an rosemary from my garden... This was a dinner hit! Keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Very yummy! Mine cooked quite quickly. Used mont-jack cheese. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This are the best!! I love them! They are creamy, cheese and perfect! I dont have to cook mine for 20 min though. Mine thicken right when I add the cornmeal! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States