Cheesy Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by profe
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Yummy polenta... I reduced the cook time by about 40%, added 2 garlic cloves, and used smoked Gouda instead of cheddar. It turned out amazing with a fried egg on top for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soulofCT
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
For my first time making polenta I must say I Aced it! This was delicious and very rich and creamy. I only added 3 tblspn of butter & half of the amount of cheesed. I didn't use cheddar cheese but I did however use Parmesan cheese. If you use salted butter try not to use so much butter in the water. Vice versa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This is the basic recipe for polenta, very simple and turns out just fine every time. I use parmesan instead of cheddar cheese so I usually cut the salt due to saltiness of the cheese. If you want it to be a little creamier as a base for meat and gravy you can stir in extra milk a little at a time during the first few minutes of whisking. It depends on what I am serving it with, sometimes I do add another half cup of milk. I leave it more firm if I am planning to use the leftover for a veggie lasagna or grilling it as a base for seafood with a creamy sauce. This dish is versatile, inexpensive and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I even took the risk of adding half of the butter and using 1% milk, and we still loved it! I did add some garlic powder, cayenne, and dry mustard to treat it more like a homemade mac n' cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I used medium cheddar cheese instead of sharp,, and it was still amazingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Too much milk and water. I would do 1 cup of each next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Loved the tips from other users. Mixed polenta in cold milk before adding, and used chicken broth instead of water. I topped it with meatballs in marinara sauce. Great gluten free alternative to pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Use Manchego and some fresh thyme to liven/fancy up the flavor! Also, definitely stir in slowly and wisk quickly, stir more often or it will brown on the bottom. Throw in some nice smoked ham and you've got a lovely Tapas dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
So flavorful and creamy...this is my new favorite side dish! Just make sure to whisk in the polenta/corn meal slowly and stir regularly while it cooks. I like to use half regular (fine ground) corn meal and half coarse ground corn meal...gives a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa W-M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Onalaska, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I must have done something wrong. I noticed another reviewer had the same problem. I could not get mine to set up. I had to serve it in ramekins because it was so watery. Not sure what I did wrong but with the cost of the cheese and the polenta itself this side dish was not worth the money even if I could have got it to set up. The flavor was very blah even switching chicken stock for water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States