Cheesy Polenta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was a great dish! I added a couple of chopped portobello mushrooms after cooking the peppers and onions a bit. I also didn't have any nice cheese on hand, so I used grated cheddar and mozzarella for the cheese. Still, it was extremely tasty! Even the kids (6 and 8) asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This was a delicious and different casserole. I will definitely double the recipe next time, it disappeared too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
My husband LOVES this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was fabulous! I only made two layers, used a bit more sauce and all mozzarella cheese versus some fontina. My husband loved it. I think you could subsitute salsa for marinara sauce and cheddar cheese for mozzarella and this would be a great Mexican sidedish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Wonderful. Only change was using more marinara and more garlic. The combo of these three cheeses is what makes this so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I loved this dish My husband is a vegetarian and I made it for Thanksgiving (along with a pork loin for the meat eaters). I used frozen pepper and onion mix i also added extra garlic and doubled the whole recipe. In place of the fontina i used the italian mixed cheese and then I topped it with fresh sliced mozzerella. This was a huge hit It was all gone but there was pork left over...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is a family favorite. Even my teen-age boys love this dish. It's easy and delicious. In fact, I'm making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genaeve
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight for my 3 boys (ages 7, 10 and 12) and they loved it!!!!! I will be making this time and time again!!!! This recipe was very easy on the pocket book..... I am a single mom and being able to stick to a budget is important to me. It was nice to fix something "fancy" that didn't cost a fortune!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3greatboys

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vilas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This is a recipe to be tweeked. Made it as written & all agreed it was gooid. I upped it by adding Italian pork sausage, red pepper flakes, & anything else Italian food consists of. Also used a can of Italian stewed tomato pured. Such a friendly recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Very good. Added mushrooms. Used red pepper, yellow onion, Italian blend cheese. What I had on hand...and needed to use. Had to add a bit more than 14 ounces sauce...probably because of the added veggies. I've made a similar casserole before. Honestly, next time I don't think I will bother with multiple thin lasagna like layers. Easier to serve and eat with a medium thick slice of polenta with sauce over. Also...I had a 24 oz tube of 'corn meal mush' and didn't think it tasted any different than the much pricier polenta. (Used 16 oz for this.) Found the mush at the store in the refrig section with bacon and sausage. My grandma used to make mush for breakfast. Fry crispy and smother in butter and maple syrup...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States