Cheesy Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
So i changed few things because of what i had on hand. I steamed the peas for 2 min and removed them to a strainer while i made the cheese sauce. I doubled the recipe, used frozen peas, half n half(out of milk), and seasoned with mckormick standard italian seasoning, and a pinch of salt n pepper. I thought it was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Hurt
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I used this recipe as basically a template and added corn as well as shredded Colby jack and a slice of American cheese, some diced ham and bacon, garlic powder, salt and pepper, and a little more butter and milk. The end result was pretty darn tasty. Would give 5 stars if only the corn was at least added in the recipes because it goes so naturally with the peas. Still highly recommend you play with this recipe and make it your own! Good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Very good. It needs a different cheese, although I don't know what. The cheddar overpowered the other flavors. But, it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I ommited the butter and it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
We really didn't care for these. The cheddar cheese didn't melt that well and even with the cheese and butter they seemed bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Always loved cheese & peas. My mom made these for us as kids so we'd eat our veggies. That was over 40 years ago. Only difference is that we always used Velveta and no eatra herbs. Love them still to this day. We never felt the need to add all the extra herbs to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Kinser Melton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Tried this for lunch, with left over peas. I reduced the amounts of everything because I only had about 1/2 cup of peas. Really didn't care for this, too cheesy and the herbs were to strong for me. I prefer peas in a Bechamel sauce, with salt and white pepper to taste. Although I might try a Tablespoon or 2 of cheese melted into the Bechamel sauce next time, with maybe just a small pinch of rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I really liked the flavor; didn't think the herbs were too strong at all. My sauce broke almost instantly, however - I guess that's what you get when you use nonfat milk. I had hoped using full fat cheddar would mitigate that, but no. So I think next time I will just cook some peas, combine the other ingredients in the microwave or something, and then pour over top the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Loved it! I had to make some substitutions because I didn't have exactly what the recipe called for on hand, but it turned out great! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Hmm. I wanted to like this, but it just was not our thing. Yes, we tasted the thyme and the rosemary and I agree it's a bit much, but we didn't like the cheese and milk in it either. I'm glad we could try this, but it clearly isn't what we like in this household--we ate about 2 servings to get in our veggies but tossed the rest. Don't let this stop you though if you are interested--it just wasn't a combo we liked. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States