Cheesy Mexi-Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
Very good. This needs to be put in a 9x13" dish, unless you want to freeze half of it then you could put it in 2 8x8" dishes. My family loved this. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
Wow, this was good, essecially since on paper it only appears to be so-so. To make into a main meal, I added 1c cooked/cubed chicken breasts, omitted the extra can of green chiles (used them all up last night) and the mexican corn. Also, just used velveeta in place of the mexican cheese. I didn't have to bake as long as the recipe indicates but turned out excellent. My boyfriend really enjoyed! ONE NOTE: I think step 1 was written incorrectly, the two cups of rice will never get to the appropriate texture with 4 cups of water...even boiling. For the first step in preparing the rice, follow the directions on the box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
I made this casserole for a neighborhood Mexican picnic and everyone just loved it! It will yeild a bit more than 10 servings and I was able to freeze the leftovers to use at a future date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
Yummy! Yummy! Yummy! need I say more? Next time I am going to add some shrimp and cubed chicken, wow, what a meal in its self!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
YUM!! We served this with Salmon on the grill and broccoli... WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
This receipe was soooo good!! I cooked the rice in 4 cups of water for 12 minutes. While I was doing that I did the rest of the ingrediants like the receipe called for. I added everything (including some cooked chicken) so as the cheese would melt and by the time everything was soupy the rice was done and I added it at the end. I didn't have a green bell pepper but see how it would have added a nice splash of color to the meal. To top it all off I dusted it off w/grated parmasean cheese. It was soo good!! I love how the rice tasted with everyting... not gummy or anything. I would definatly recommend this receipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Curtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
I hate when people change recipes, but unfortunately my horrible grocery store did not have Mexican corn or Mexican processed cheese, and I did not have time to go to another. I ended up shredding 1 pound of chicken and cooking it with taco seasoning, then mixing it with the rest of the mixture, and used Taco shredded cheese (Kraft). My boyfriend actually stopped eating SEVERAL times to say how good dinner was. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I LOVED this! I printed it a while ago, and just got around to making it tonight. I didn't read the reviews, and as I was eating it, I thought, "this would be great with chicken added" (see if I had read them, DREGINEK could have clued me into that one, great minds think alike, but ya beat me to it :) I skipped the extra can of chiles, because I didn't have them and I also used minute rice because it's all I had. When I reheat them, I'll do so in a soft tortilla shell. Loved it, thanks M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
Very good. If you have kids, you may want to tone down the chili powder. The recipe does not mention the amount of chedar cheese required as a topping (which it does need), I used about a cup. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
WONDERFUL! I took this to our monthly Bunko party and it was the hit of the night - nothing left to bring home! I used 1 lb. of Mexican-style Velveeta. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shalimar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States