Cheesy Mexi-Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
Wow, this was good, essecially since on paper it only appears to be so-so. To make into a main meal, I added 1c cooked/cubed chicken breasts, omitted the extra can of green chiles (used them all up last night) and the mexican corn. Also, just used velveeta in place of the mexican cheese. I didn't have to bake as long as the recipe indicates but turned out excellent. My boyfriend really enjoyed! ONE NOTE: I think step 1 was written incorrectly, the two cups of rice will never get to the appropriate texture with 4 cups of water...even boiling. For the first step in preparing the rice, follow the directions on the box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Instead of cooking the rice in water, I used equal amounts organic chicken broth. I sauteed the vegetables in a little butter instead of chicken broth and I also omitted the can of creamed corn only because I didn't have any on hand. I did not try this myself but my husband and kids really liked it. I think next time, I might try to simplify this recipe and cook it from start to finish in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
I hate when people change recipes, but unfortunately my horrible grocery store did not have Mexican corn or Mexican processed cheese, and I did not have time to go to another. I ended up shredding 1 pound of chicken and cooking it with taco seasoning, then mixing it with the rest of the mixture, and used Taco shredded cheese (Kraft). My boyfriend actually stopped eating SEVERAL times to say how good dinner was. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
Yummy! Yummy! Yummy! need I say more? Next time I am going to add some shrimp and cubed chicken, wow, what a meal in its self!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I LOVED this! I printed it a while ago, and just got around to making it tonight. I didn't read the reviews, and as I was eating it, I thought, "this would be great with chicken added" (see if I had read them, DREGINEK could have clued me into that one, great minds think alike, but ya beat me to it :) I skipped the extra can of chiles, because I didn't have them and I also used minute rice because it's all I had. When I reheat them, I'll do so in a soft tortilla shell. Loved it, thanks M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
The purists will be mad at me for the substitutions I made, but we were snowed in! And I really liked this dish! I had NO RICE (how does that happen anyway) so I had to sub barley. I had a shredded Mexican cheese blend which I used in place of the Velveeta. Also, I added a can of drained black beans for protein so I could make this a one-dish meal. I ate this plain but the hubs wrapped into soft tortillas and made burritos out of them. Really good and it makes a ton - I've got 4 lunches in the freezer for next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This was good. I added diced cooked chicken to make it a meal. I did not put in the creamed corn because of previous reviews. I also added an extra 2 oz. of mexican velveeta and added one big fresh chopped tomatoe. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
Very good. This needs to be put in a 9x13" dish, unless you want to freeze half of it then you could put it in 2 8x8" dishes. My family loved this. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This is so great! It's even better if it sits overnight as leftovers! I made the 5 serving size and it was still a lot! I used steamed Jasmine rice and that was great! I didn't have creamed corn and it was still great. I didn't saute the veggies at all - just put them in uncooked. I added a bit more processed cheese (used plain, not Mexican) and it was just right. I also added some diced green pepper for color. Between the Mexican corn and the green chiles, it was quite spicy - I didn't realize it would be and added quite a bit of spice, but it was great!!! This one is a keeper! I'm going to try it with cooked chicken mixed in for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
We didn't like the 'sweet' that the cream-style corn gave this recipe. I think I will try it again without the cream-style corn and add a can of rinsed black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States